Muesli and Popped Amaranth Crumble….with seasonal mulberries

Muesli and popped amaranth crumbleAs soon as the clock strikes 6, sun started to appear brightly, which was not a pleasant sign in summers but in the last two-three days morning were quite pleasant and that led to invite more and more people in the park, some for chatting and some for obvious reason, morning walk.  I leisurely sit in my balcony enjoying the view and this beautiful weather inspire me to bake something special, I planned a bread that I will make in the afternoon after completing my work.

Muesli and popped amaranth crumble1

But today I have planned to share a very easy and quick recipe which was created to use muesli, lying for so long in my cupboard, which I bought to have in the morning. I took it for a day or two but later stopped and again came back to my morning schedule of tea and bread. In order to consume my that costly packet I started to add it in everything I ate, like curds, ice creams, cookies and cakes.

muesli with honey

This recipe was just an experiment but unexpectedly came out so well that now my crumble definition has changed for forever and one more thing I didn’t use any butter or oil in this recipe.

I used all the healthy ingredients in it.  Other than seasonal fruits I used gluten free grain, popped amaranth.  In North India, it is called Rajgira.   Amaranth can be popped at home on a regular pan on low heat just like popcorn but it takes less time to pop up and remember to pop them just spoonful by spoonful,  stirring continuously otherwise it will get burnt .

fruit filling with popped amaranth

Now headed to my mulberry story, I believe you all must have plucked mulberries from your neighborhood tree in your childhood.  I still do that and it gives me immense pleasure and those little unripe tastes much better than the ripe one which you bought from a vendor but these red ones were difficult to get from a tree because they already have been plucked by the local children.

mulberries

I have some protein powerhouse, popped amaranth childhood memories too, I believe you all must have energy and iron rich ladoos made with this beautiful grain and wit jaggery  either in fasting period or in winters (share recipe soon).

Are your aware that amaranth contains more than three times the average amount of calcium and is also high in iron, magnesium, phosphorus, and potassium.  It’s also the only grain documented to contain Vitamin C.(to know more about amaranth read wholegrain council) fruit filled ramekins

Serves 4

Ingredients

For fruit filling

  • Apple, chopped – 1
  • Strawberries, chopped – 5 – 6
  • Mulberries, chopped and inner stem removed – 6 – 7
  • Popped amaranth – ½ cup
  • Any jam – 1 tbsp

For crumble

  • Muesli – ½ cup
  • Honey – 2 tbsp

Method

For fruit filling

In a bowl mixed all the ingredients of fruit filling and fill a little more than half of the ramekin molds.

For crumble

Mix muesli and honey in another bowl.

Assembling

Fill the ramekin with the crumble mixture and bake in a preheated oven at 180 degree C. for about 5 to 6 minutes.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

