Lemon Curd Cake with Cherry Compote topping……Happy Mother’s Day

Lemon Curd CakeOn Mother’s Day I am sharing something very personal with you, which you might be least interested in knowing but still, I would otherwise won’t able to express  but I know she knew all, as someone has rightly said……

A mother understands what a child doesn’t say

lemon curd cake

I start by thanking my mother for whatever she has done or still doing for us. I would best describe my mom in one simple word – selflessness, who has completely forgotten about herself while raising us.

lemon curd cake

Today, when I am a mother too but can’t think of a life ignoring myself to the hilt but trust me she has done that. With all the ups and down, she was always or remain to be a  pillar of strength for us. We are truly gifted to have her  as our mother.

zested lemons

lemon curd

Earlier, she  was like  a strict teacher to us. She was aware that  I was not a good student but still she never doubted my capabilities and always worked hard to improve me, but as you all  know some things just can’t be changed and I am the best example of this.

Cherry Compote

When I failed to  achieve something big, she was  there for me to hold my hand and take me further. Later, when I headed for small jobs, there too she was happy as  I was happy doing such jobs.

Lemon Curd cake

When I dreamt of starting a bakery or  holding classes of baking, she was the one who was most excited to listen to my plans.

I share with her everything. There is nothing which she was not aware of,  from simple routine activities to big moments, she knew all.

ingredients for cake

Yesterday was her birthday and I made this lemon curd cake for her, which was loved by everyone but her real feedback is yet to receive because at that time she always said good things but only a day after she pinpoints the faults.

egg yolks

It took me really long to make this because I was not sure of its taste or I was  apprehensive because  lots of egg yolks were required to make this. And as compared to egg whites egg yolks smell is more powerful. So, I first tried with very small proportion  and give that to try, to my son , he loved it’s taste and then I became confident because when he appreciated something that means it really has some taste. But still, I added just  one  fourth of a cup.

sifting of dry ingredients

lemon curd cake

It was something new for everybody and they loved it.

Lemon Curd recipe adapted from Baker’s Royale

Ingredients for lemon curd

  • 1/2 cup – lemon juice, fresh squeezed
  • 1/2 cup – granulated sugar
  • Zest of 6 small lemons
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 75 gm of butter

Method of lemon curd

Whisk egg yolks and transfer to a saucepan; set aside. Place lemon juice, lemon zest and sugar in a saucepan. Heat to simmer or until sugar completely dissolves. Add butter and continue to heat until butter dissolves. Gradually pour  hot mixture into saucepan with egg yolks, while continuously whisking until everything is combined. Return combined mixture to stovetop and heat until it is just barely thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.

Recipe of the sponge adapted from Natasha Kitchen

Ingredients for sponge

  • 2 ½ cups – 4 tbsp – whole wheat flour
  • 4 tbsp corn flour
  • 2 ½ tsp – baking powder
  • 1 tsp – baking soda
  • 1 tsp – salt
  • 4 – eggs
  • 1 cup – castor sugar
  • 2 tsp – vanilla essence
  • 1 cup – vegetable oil
  • 1 cup – buttermilk or ( you can substitute the buttermilk with 1 cup milk plus 1 teaspoon white vinegar or lemon juice- add acid to the milk then set aside for 5 minutes before using)

Method for sponge

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C and line two 8 inches cake tins.

In a bowl, whisk together both the flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set flour mix aside. In another bowl beat eggs for 1 minute then add sugar and continue to beat for another 1 minute. Now add buttermilk ane oil and whisk again until well incorporates now fold dry mixture into the wet and whisk again for anoter 10 seconds. Pour this mixture into the lined tins and bake for about 20 to 25 minutes or until when touched springs back. Let them cool on a wire rack.

Ingredients for Lemon curd frosting

  • Double cream – 2 cups
  • Lemon curd – ¼ cup

Method for lemon curd frosting

Beat cream until stiff peaks formed then fold lemon curd into it,

Ingredients for Lemon syrup

  • Water – ¾ cup
  • Sugar – 1 tsp
  • Lemon juice – 1 tsp

Method for syrup

In a pan boil sugar and water till sugar dissolves completely. When cool down add lemon juice to it.

Ingredients for cherry compote

  • Cherry – 100gm
  • Sugar – 2 tbsp
  • Water – ¼ cup
  • Red wine – 2 tbsp

Method for cherry compote

In a pan add cherries, sugar and water and bring to a boil. Take the cherries out of the pan and let the syrup continue to thicken on a low heat. After that add wine and stir for 1 more minute then pour this syrup over the cherries.

Assembling your Cake

Place the first layer, onto the cake board. Sprinkle half of the syrup on this layer evenly. Frost the top with 1/3 of the lemon curd frosting. Do this with second layer as well. Then frost the sides with the remaining frosting. On the top place cherry compote and reserve some syrup for drizzling on the sides. Decorate as desired.

With the crumbs I made this.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lemon Curd Cake with Cherry Compote topping……Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Well done vibha bua.We really cherished ur delicious cakey daughter mother memoirs with dadi.Quite heartening 2 hear all this about.On reading ur message,even papa became nostalgic.Ur truly stated emotions realy touched the core of his heart.U realy love dadi much more than what papa loves her.U r a proud daughter of a caring mother.
    Ur cake was equally very much same tasty and pure as ur thoughts and inner conscience.Even mummy also was quite impressed by ur simple and honest views and infact and she was the first to read this and opined that u r a perfect eg of a loving daughter.BIG SALUTE TO U ON HAPPY MOTHERS DAY.

    • Thanks so much Anvit. Your comments were really really heart warming. I am really touched. Anvit, I truly believe, when it comes to expressing our feeling, you are just like me, who never able to express but I know you are the most loving and caring person in the world and when I am saying this, I really meant it.

      But one thing which I learnt late is…
      “Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.” William
      And regarding loving dadi or anyone else I am nowhere close to Vinay. I know he sometimes became harsh with his words but it is just for your betterment. I know you understand that.
      Bye, see you soon at my home.

Leave a Reply

