Apricot and Walnut bar….healthy snacking

apricot and walnut bar

I took these bars  with me when I visited my sister’s home though I was aware that my nephew was not  and it was not the right time to give him something chocolaty  but still I didn’t want to disappoint him.  Unfortunately, he could not  eat them because he had really  bad cough and  fever.

Apricot

I saved a few for my husband too, who loves everything nutty and these bars were loaded with nuts so he loved them. It was really tasty and with all the goodness packed, you can enjoy these bars without feeling guilty.  When I gave one  to my son(who loves everything store bought), he too loved it and asked for more.

I am planning to make them again because now when my son’s holiday have started, all the time he could only think of chocolate, ice creams and something cold to drink.  Now, when he is at home I too can try different things, leaving apart cakes, which he eats very occasionally.

Apricot and walnut bars

It really took lot of time to cut these  nuts into pieces, especially apricot, because they were lying with me since last year.  After using  some  I store them in my freezer fearing, heat would spoil them and that’s what made them really hard. But if I put them outside a day before it would be easy to cut them off.chopped nuts

Ingredients

  • Apricots – 25
  • Almonds – 50 gms
  • Walnuts – 25 gms
  • Marie Biscuits – 50 gms
  • Honey – 4 tbsp
  • Chocolate – 100 gm
  • Butter – 35 gms

Method

Chop all the dry fruits in a bowl. Add crushed marie biscuits into the dry fruits mixture. In a pan melt butter, chocolate and honey on slow flame. Pour this mixture into the dry fruits mixture and mix well. Take a tin lined with cling film, pour this mixture in the tin. Let it cool in the refrigerator for 1 hour. After 1 hour take that out and cut into pieces.

 

Leave a Reply

