Muesli and Amaranth Cookies

Amaranth muesli Cookies

Finally, the result has been announced and BJP party has won the elections. So, hearty congratulations to the party. But, it was an very irritating day, as all were  glued to the T.V since morning. They were busy in knowing the result and I spend my day baking and interacting with my sister (share story soon). Now, it’s over and we can concentrate on other things of life.

honey

Nowadays, my mornings are quite free, I am not in a hurry to pack lunch or to prepare breakfast, as my son holidays have started and schedule of everybody has changed suddenly. It is amazing how a small child bring or affects the life of so many people.

amaranth muesli cookies

But still, everyday I got up exactly at 6 and seeing them all sleeping,  I go for a walk.  Weather certainly plays a very important role in deciding how long I am going to be there.  It’s May now, but still weather is so pleasant and so uncertain specially in the morning. But,  If it is dull,  I could only think of rushing back home and finishing my chores of work at the earliest and if it was pleasant I  want to be there for long  dreaming about whole lot of sweet things in life.  But as soon as I  found a glimpse of any of my family member in my balcony, I know it was the time to rush back home and prepare something for the ever hungry family and specially a child who  is at home 24*7.

amaranth muesli cookies

Cookies were certainly a answer of your agonies atleast for sometime and knowing how much he  loves my homemade cookies I always try to put healthy ingredient in them, which he never eat otherwise. This time I made cookies out of leftover muesli, which too would not be left, as I love having them with peanut butter and some honey.  But later, I stopped when I found that in the aid of healthy snacking I am consuming whole jar of peanut butter in just 3 to 4 days. So I stopped having that afterwards.

Using Amaranth flour was a obvious choice.   Earlier, I use this flour in very less quantity and never used fully. This recipe required flour in very small quantity so I took the chance. There came most delicious and healthy cookies, which were loved by everyone especially  by my son.

Amaranth Muesli Cookies

Recipe adapted from Taste with a little change, I increased the quantity of muesli from 3 cups to 4 cups as they were getting difficult to bind.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups homemade toasted muesli (coarsely grinded)
  • 1/2 cup (75g) plain flour
  • 100g butter, melted, cooled
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten

Method

Preheat oven to 170°C. . Combine muesli and flour in a bowl. Whisk butter, honey and egg together in another bowl.

Add butter mixture to muesli and mix well. Make a dough and keep this mixture wrapped in a cling film for 2 hours or preferably overnight. Next day make small balls out of them and place on two trays, 3cm apart. Flatten.

Bake for 10 mins. Swap trays halfway through. Then bake for another 10 to 15 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack. Repeat with remaining mixture.

 

 

One thought on “Muesli and Amaranth Cookies

  1. Pingback: Eggless, Gluten free Brownie…..with Amaranth flour | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

