Banana and Mango Yogurt Gelato

Mango and Banana Gelato

Nowadays my son is at home, so it was getting really difficult to work on computer because whenever he watch me with computer, he wants my computer to play so I am avoiding working on computers.   I am opting  night time or early morning time to compile my post.  Today, when he was away with his papa so, I have ample time to do what I want.

Now, when mango is in the season and whosoever visited our house brings lots of mangoes with him/her. Sometimes lying in the freeze for long(because we are not so crazy about them, I know sounds amazing but yes) they become soft and then nobody touch them.   Whipping in cakes or in other desserts helps in utilizing some.  Recently  I tried lots of mangoes recipes, out of which I randomly picked Gelato to share with you today.

mango and banana gelato

Gelato is an Italian word for ice cream. But there are some important differences between the two, first the fat content in Gelato is less and the other difference is less air is whipped into the gelato that makes it denser. Gelato contains 25 to 30 percent air while ice cream has up to 50 percent air (courtesy cooking equipment). One more important difference between the two that unlike ice cream gelato is not served immediately.

mango and banana gelato

I haven’t tasted gelato outside, so can’t explain the exact difference but we all found it very creamy and soft. According to Donna hay, it was a cheat way to make gelato because for an actual gelato recipe you need stabilizer or sometimes egg yolks. I  found it like frozen yogurt.  Anyway a delicious treat for summers and healthy too.

I always in search of healthy recipes, which require fruits and has less fat in them. So when I saw this program on her show Donna Hay fast fresh and Simple. I knew I would try this soon.

mango and banana gelato

Reading some sites I found that Gelato has custard like smoothness and I believe in this version that came from the fruits so definitely a much better option with no cooking required and taste too good and creamy. But again my gelato has ice crystals in it because I didn’t churn up again after every two hours.  We all don’t mind having ice crystals in our ice-cream or gelato.

Serves 8

Ingredients

  • 2 bananas, peeled and chopped
  • 3 mangoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup overnight strained curd or yogurt

Method

  1. Place the banana and mango in a sealed container and freeze for 2–3 hours or until frozen.
  2. Place the frozen fruit and yoghurt in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.
  3. Serve immediately or place in a sealed container and freeze.
  4. After freezing allow to soften for 5 minutes before serving
Leave a Reply

