Tarator

Tarator

What attracted most in this recipe was Sophie’s photos and it’s name, otherwise I would ignore this recipe considering it as one more variation of Raita.  Yes, it do have raita’s two main ingredients but taste wise it was so different with a healthy dimension of garlic, walnuts, olives and Dill. You will feel crunchiness as well as smoothness at the same time. It’s has became a favorite accompaniment in our house.   My son often asks me to make this for him, he simply loves it.

It was my first experience of using and trying Dill and I am totally in love with this herb but it has a strong flavor. It is good for our bones and also has anti bacterial properties, walnuts too are considered best for brain and yogurt known for its probiotic properties. So much health in a bowl so don’t ignore this post and must try this in your kitchen. However in summers, you can substitute dill with some other herb like basil or mint and that too would be equally good (I haven’t yet tried).

tarator

I really found it amazing that adding or omitting just one or two ingredient alter the taste altogether. When I was reading this recipe I was not sure of adding nuts to it, so I tried with smaller quantity but now, no matter how much I made, it all disappear very soon.. Remember to chop all the ingredient finely but don’t bruise the cucumber because when you have spoonful of this into your mouth, you should feel the bites of different ingredients and that’s what makes a true tarator.

tarator

Recipe adapted from Sophiasodeto

Ingredients

  • 1 litre yoghurt
  • 4 medium size
  • 3 gloves of garlic(add more if you want)
  • 1 cup of walnut kernels
  • 1 bunch of fresh dill – washed and finely chopped
  • Olive Oil – 3 tbsp to taste
  • Salt – to taste

Method

Strain the yogurt in a strainer lined with wet and squeezed muslin cloth and leaves it to strain overnight in the freeze; especially in summers otherwise it will make the yogurt sour. Peel and dice the cucumbers very finely but avoiding any bruising. Make a smooth pesto of Walnut, Garlic and Dill in mortar and pestle only because according to  Sophia mortar and pestle preserve the goodness of vitamins and antioxidant in the fresh ingredients). Mix salt and 1 tbsp of olive oil in the pesto.

In a large mixing bowl whisk the strained yogurt until smooth, add the walnut, garlic and dill pesto and continue to mix.   Add the diced cucumbers and stir very gently.  Add remaining olive oil.  Now sprinkle with a handful of finely chopped dill, decorate with drizzle of olive oil

 

 

3 thoughts on “Tarator

  1. Hi Vibha!
    It is pleasure you have discovered the recipe of my family’s Tarator and I hope you truly enjoy its healthy benefits! Old recipes hold many years of wisdom and kitchen experience. It delights me that your son is asking for more 🙂 ! You are bringing him up in very wise way and he’ll grow to be one very smart child!
    I would suggest, if time is not pressing you, stay true to the recipe and crush the pesto in stone or wooden mortar and pestle. The reason for that is that the old-fashioned mortars preserve the goodness of vitamins and antioxidant in the fresh ingredients, while the fast rotation and contact with metal blade in a blender compromise and destroy most of them. Cooking sometimes can be time-consuming and tiresome journey, but the destination of good health and authentic texture is priceless!
    Wishing you good health and long life and feel free to say “hello” in my blog whenever some post inspires you!
    Warm regards, Sophia

    • Hello Sophia, first of all, I must say I love your blog, your writing, your pictures all inspire me a lot. I did try many times to post comment on your blog but failed. It said, ” invalid URL”.
      Thanks for reading my blog so carefully I really appreciate it and I will make the necessary changes in my post and from next time onwards I will be careful and use only mortar and pestle.

      Thanks again.

      • Good morning Vibha!
        Sorry to hear that you have problems commenting on my blog. I am using Blogger and that might be part of the issue as you are with WordPress. I will try to solve it. But in meantime you can always use the ‘contact’ link to drop me a line 🙂 .
        Warm regards, Sophia

Leave a Reply

