Fresh Fig and Cherry Tea Cake…Happy Father’s Day

fig and cherry cake

For every daughter, her father is the role model. I am no different.  To me, he is the, every beautiful word in the dictionary, a most loving, caring and most sensitive human being – one who drops a tear even before the person who was hurt.

Fig cake

Today I take you to my humble past, which is the storehouse of smiles and smiles. There were so many unforgettable  memories with him, which I now often share with my son and who very fondly listens to them and feel very excited.   I am sharing some very few in brief like   how we used to do lots of fun activities together like playing lots of indoor games, making crackers (yes, you read right) at home, helping him trying his hands in various most delicious recipes(where I was the first one to try) , enjoying with him beautiful numerous train journeys and eating all sorts of chaats coming to us to  on our train window seats, unpacking his looooooots of gifts(which he still do for us, sometimes I doubt, is buying gifts for us is the only reason for his official trip??), his most delicious tea while we were studying, shopping, bathing us all together or sleeping on his arms in a row, enjoying lots ‘n’ lots cups of tea with him while watching our favorite movies. Every activity becomes memorable when it was done with him.

fig

In our hardest times, when everybody falls weak he emerges as the strongest person holding and binding us together but at the same time a weakest person, even a scratch makes him cry.

My parents

I remember how my parents murmuring start at 4 a.m. in the morning that was the time when my parents share their thoughts and dreams. I have seen how my parents struggles for everything in life but giving us their most precious love.

eggless fig cake

Even today, I believe till today his only motto in life to give us all a beautiful and comfortable life but in his this journey he ignored his health, resulted in many health problems. I pray to God everyday and  I know with me, thousands of other hands were folded(whom hearts he has touched someway or the other) for his good health..

fig and cherry cake

We are three siblings but my brother is the one who gets most scolding from him after his hard day work (read hard day work) but he is the one who is his heart beat. Now, his grandson has taken his position, just bring him in front of him and he will mellow down and you can see the brightest smile on his face. My sister too was the victim of his anger most of the time but I am the most pampered child. Till today, he has never raised his voice on me. I remember, I always got the opportunity to sit on his lap whenever we were going somewhere.

fig and cherry cake

He is a person who started everything from scratch and his desire and passion took him where he is today. We all are proud to have a father like you. Love you.

The only thing which I wish he would take care of, is his health.

Serves 8 – 10

Recipe adapted from Donna Hay Fast fresh and Simple
Ingredients

  • Whole wheat flour– 1 ½ cup
  • baking powder – 1 ¾ +1/8 tsp
  • salt – ¼ tsp
  • brown sugar – ¾ cup – 2 tbsp
  • butter, softened – 125 gm
  • eggs – 3
  • milk – ½ cup
  • vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • figs – 3 sliced
  • cherries – ½ cup pitted
  • Coarse sugar – 2 tbsp
  • Sliced almonds to garnish
  • Macerated figs (optional)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160 degree C. Sift flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl. In another bowl whisk butter and sugar for two minutes then add eggs one by one and again whisk for one more minute. Fold       2  chopped figs, some cherries, vanilla essence and flour mixture.
  2. Spoon the mixture into a greased 8 inch tin lined with non-stick baking paper. Top with the remaining cut out pieces of fig and the cherries and sprinkle with coarse sugar and almonds.
  3. Bake for 45 minutes or until the cake is cooked when tested with a skewer and decorate with macerated figs

This was the cake I made for this day but not for him as I don’t want to trouble him by sending someone to my home just for the cake as ours house is not very closed.

5 thoughts on “Fresh Fig and Cherry Tea Cake…Happy Father’s Day

  1. Woh vibha.great memoirs”’really sweet sweet past memorable moments got reminded live as if happened just a few days ago,,,yu really is a gem”l never imagined, In fact never ever realised that you have so good rememerance,,so good command on vocabulary..above all so so so so good heart full of warmth’love,affection’carest,concern for all of us””i feel proud today to b your brother”’iin fact in real sense yu are proving to b the second son of our parents ”except the fact that u stay apart and not able to impart your actual proveable concern for mummy papa”
    But I firmly believe that its ur sincere wishes to Almighty that is giving papa new and new life force each day”’

    Yu think much much more than what I have in store for our papa”’

    Be as it is in all times to come and inculcate same earthly traits in Pooshoo too”

    God bless!!
    I also got some opportunity to make an introspection and follow your steps..

    C u and poosh coming week

    Tera Bittooooooo bhaiya

  2. Pingback: Fig and Apple Jam…a spoonful of my life | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

