Banana and Chocolate Loaf

banana and chocolate loaf

Just one more week and summer vacations will be over, leaving beautiful memories behind. I have an advantage that I can store my memories in my blog and can revive them any time of the day but otherwise too, they will stay in my heart forever.

banana and chocolate loaf

In my next upcoming posts I will share how I spent my holidays.   But today I am sharing my most recent visit to my parent’s house. I don’t have many photographs to share because kids didn’t allow me to photograph them but I managed to click a few by bribing them.

banana and chocolate loaf

Children had their best time by playing with their mamu, who took leave from his work for some days to be with them. When kids have the best time, we ladies, too have all the fun by laughing on the numerous jokes of my sister-in-law (a most cheerful person). I learnt lots of new applications on phone from my nephew, who surprised me this time by his altogether changed behavior and glad that his parent’s efforts are paying off. Earlier when he got the scolding from his parents on each and every thing I thought they would make him rebel one day, I even protested sometimes but seeing his behavior this time I am glad that he was not far of becoming (nature wise) a perfect copy of my brother.

kids

My sister and her son Abhinav (or apple of my brother’s eye) too was there. As he was the youngest so played a perfect scapegoat for all of us. But it was amazing to see how he positively  took our jokes on him. My parents too leave no stone unturned in providing comforts in every form (I know it has to be otherwise, but they won’t allow use to work there).    When all the good things happened with me there, it was very disturbing to see health conditions of everyone there. I just wish and pray for  happiness and good health for such lovely souls. I considered myself most lucky to have such a beautiful family (touchwood). On this note I end my story there.

banana and chocolate loaf

I took with me this whole wheat banana loaf with me and they all loved it so much that they asked me to bake that again next day and again on third day when I made a brownie they all complaint that why not the same cake. It was enough to say how good it was. I made lots of changes in the original  recipe.

banna and chocole loaf

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home

Ingredients

  • 1-3/4 cups whole wheat
  • 1 cup sugar (I almost half the sugar, you can add more)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 medium ripe bananas, mashed (1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • ½ cup chocolate chips
  • you can made a layer of chocolate sauce in between to give it marble texture by pouring half of the prepared mixture of cake in the tin then pouring some chocolate sauce and making swirls with the knife and then pouring the remaining mixture (optional)

Method

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Grease a 9” by 5” loaf tin. . In a large bowl sift flour, baking soda and salt then coat nuts and chocolate chips in flour mixture. In another bowl, beat eggs with sugar, add pureed bananas and whisk again then add oil, buttermilk and vanilla essence; add this mixture to flour mixture, stirring just until combined.

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Banana and Chocolate Loaf

Leave a Reply

