Double Chocolate Cranberry Biscotti

double chocolate biscotti
Weekend is here again. For mothers, it is a difficult time of the week, when everybody is at home 24 * 7 demanding all sorts of services from you. But if you leave this reason behind, I love my weekend for all other reasons. That’s the time when I am not in a hurry to pack up early at night. Other than that I can nag my husband to take us somewhere and I can easily postponed my son’s homework for other day to enjoy a good movie together. I can also work on computers late night and early morning which is not possible during working days. I love cooking something elaborate for breakfast but I avoid baking during that period because then clicking (which took most of my time) would be difficult in front of them (they find that activity very irritating).

Double chocolate cranberry  biscotti
But how can I let them deprive of some home baked goodness during the weekend. I baked these biscotti for them yesterday and they all loved it because it is something I don’t bake often.

I can easily relate this to Rusk but chocolate flavor make this different and children’s favorite too. To make it more likeable to my son I added lots of chocolate chips too. Biscotti can be prepared with fat and with no fat, as it’s a healthy blog I opt for fat free version.

biscotti log (baked and unbaked)
When it comes to baking biscotti I always think twice because the success rate of making them is very low.  They baked perfectly till the first step but the main problem comes in cutting.  I have learnt some important tips from my earlier mistakes.

double chocolate and cranberry biscotti
• Roast your nuts before adding to the flour mixture.
• Chop the nuts finely.
• After baking in the first stage wait for 5 to 6 minutes before cutting.
• Always use a sharp serrated knife for this and cut diagonally.

If you follow these steps I can vouch your biscotti would be as good as this.
Recipe adapted from David Lebovitz’s blog. I made some changes in the original recipe.

Ingredients

•  whole wheat flour – 2 cups
•  cocoa powder – 3/4 cup
•  baking soda – 1 tsp
• 1salt – 1/4 tsp
• eggs, at room temperature – 4
•  castor sugar – 1 cup
•  vanilla essence – 1 tsp
•  coffee powder – 1/2 tsp
•  almonds, toasted and very coarsely-chopped – 1/2 cup
• dry cranberry – 1/2 cup
•  chocolate chips – 3/4 cups
• 1 egg, beaten lightly for brushing (optional)
• Coarse sugar – 1 tbsp for sprinkling on top(optional)

Method
Preheat the oven to 350F (180C) degrees. In a bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, coffee powder and salt, then coat the nuts, cranberry and the chocolate chips in the flour mixture.

In a large bowl, beat together the 3 eggs, sugar, and vanilla essence. Gradually stir in the dry ingredients.

Line a baking tray with baking paper (very important, as they are fat free otherwise they will stick. Divide the dough in half. On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough into two logs( see picture above) the length of the baking sheet. Transfer the logs onto the baking tray.

Gently flatten the tops of the logs. Beat the remaining egg and brush the tops of the logs liberally with the egg. Sprinkle the tops with the coarse or crystal sugar and bake for 25 minutes, until the dough feels firm to the touch.

Remove the cookie dough from the oven and cool 15 minutes. On a cutting board, use a serrated bread knife to diagonally cut the cookies into 1/2-inches slices. Lay the cookies cut side down on baking sheets and return to the oven for 20 to 30 minutes, turning the baking sheet midway during baking, until the cookies feel mostly firm.
Once baked, cool the cookies completely then store in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

Leave a Reply

