Fig and Apple Jam…a spoonful of my life

fig and apple jam

Remember, I made a fig and cherry tea cake on father’s day.  That was the day, when I first tasted  fig.    I bought some at a hefty price but one of my friend told me that in Southern India it is available very cheap. But going there is not in my agenda right now and if, I need or desire to cook something with them, I should be ready to pay a price.

My that cakes took only some of the figs, leaving more in the freeze.  I  had a tart in mind with them but I knew my family member who were not so fond of cakes and all these baked stuff, would not tolerate having another slice so quick.  They need  a gap of a week to enjoy another baked stuff.  And I was aware that these perishable figs would not wait for so long. At that time I could only think of  jam.

Recently I tried various jams but some were a total disaster.  But that doesn’t stop me from trying more and to read more about jams and preserves, I bought a wonderful book “The Australian Women’s Weekly Preserves”.   And this recipe is from that book.

figs

That book was not the only thing which added to my collection, I added some more stuff.  These pans and tins are some recent addition. my new tins

My new tools – zester and spatula..

zester and spatula

And some small silicon muffin molds, perfect for a family who are not a big fan of baked delicacies.

small muffin molds

I  painted an old board with the leftover color, bought to paint a ball for my son’s  school project.    As  it was a very small bottle so  didn’t apply liberally.

painted an old board

Some food news!!!

My mother send me this boat of Mango Pickle, it made me so happy.

mango pickle

My excitement doesn’t ends here, my mother-in-law was too  ready to pickle  20 kg  of mangoes.

a 20 kg project

Ready to be pickled.

ready to be pickled

When they all had preserved what they want, why should I be left behind in following their footsteps?

fig and apple jam

Recipe adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly Preserves

Ingredients

  • 1 large apple peeled, chopped
  • 330ml – water
  • 2 medium figs (approx 170 g)
  • 180ml water, extra
  • 330 g – sugar, approx
  • Star anise – 1
  • Juice of a lemon – 1 tbsp

Method

Combine apples and water in a large saucepan, bring to boil, simmer covered, about 30 minutes.

Stir in figs, star anise, and juice of lemon and extra water, bring to boil, simmer, covered for 5 to 7 minutes or until figs are soft.

Measure fruit mixture; allow ¾ cup sugar to each cup of fruit mixture. Return fruit mixture with sugar to pan; stir over heat, without boiling, until the sugar dissolved. Bring to boil, boil, uncovered, without stirring, for about 20 minutes or until jam jells when tested*. Take out the star anise.

Once jam came into room temperature pour this into sterilized jars. Keep this jam in the freeze. It can go well up to 6 months.

*To test whether jam has jelled or not.

Remove jam from heat to stop further cooking. Drop a teaspoon of mixture onto a saucer which has been chilled in freezer for a few minutes, return saucer to freezer until jam is at room or serving temperature but not frozen. Jam which has pieces of fruit (like this) should have formed a skin which wrinkles when pushed with the finger. Jam should be a firm mass on the saucer, if mixture does not jell, return to the heat, boil rapidly until mixture will jell when tested.

fig and apple jam

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

