Gluten Free Peach and Plum Slump

gluten free peach and plump slump

Sometimes little pleasures in life were enough to keep you going. But sometimes, even these  simple pleasures were difficult to get. Going out on weekend is my weekly desire but  things just could not fall in place  last month, sometimes my son’s exams were the reason, sometimes his health and sometimes my health (which always take more than usual time to recover).

peaches and plums

News of PTM just came at the right time I was happy  because I knew now no excuse will do and we all have to go  though I was not in a position to talk with his teachers but actually who wants to talk with his teacher,  I just want to escape   from a boring routine. I might be sounding stupid, singing this same song again and again but trust me this simple things matters me most.

gluten free peach and plum slump It was certainly not a break which I longed for because we just go straight to his school and came back home straight but still, it was a breather to me.  Hope I will recover soon so that I can be out as long as I want.   When we came back home I decided to bake something with lots of fruits lying in the freeze. They have to consume anyways because I knew now when we all have recovered we certainly don’t want to see all these fruits for some times because when we were ill we only have fruits.

peachesWe all enjoyed this dessert a lot even my son who doesn’t like fruit in baking, he too enjoyed it because I added ice cream to it.  You too enjoy this classic New England dessert called “slump,” “grunt,” or “cobbler,” . In this classic dessert a sticky biscuit dough is dropped onto fruit filling which makes it different from the very old crumble.

fruit filling

Recipe adapted from Saveur

Serves 4

Ingredients 

  • Amaranth  flour – 1 cup
  • Sugar – 1 cup
  • Baking powder – 2 ¼ tsp
  • Salt – ½ tsp
  • Butter – 2 tbsp
  • Milk – ¾ cup
  • Orange juice – ½ cup
  • Lemon juice – 1/8 cup
  • Plums and peaches – 700gm (pitted and chopped finely)
  • any jam for garnishing (optional)

Method

Whisk together flour, ½ cup sugar, baking powder, and ¼ tsp. salt in a large bowl; add butter, and using your fingers, rub butter into flour until pea-size crumbles form. Add milk, and stir just until a moist dough forms; cover and refrigerate dough until ready to use.  Heat oven to 400°. Bring remaining sugar and salt along with peaches and plums and citrus juices to a boil over high heat, stirring to dissolve sugar. Remove pan from heat and divide the filling into 6 ramekins and using two tablespoons, portion and form chilled dough into 2–3″ oval dumplings, and drop them evenly on top of the fruit mixture. Sprinkle dough dumplings with sugar, and transfer ramekins to oven; bake until biscuits are cooked through and fruit mixture is reduced, about 20 minutes. Serve hot with vanilla ice cream, if you like.

One thought on “Gluten Free Peach and Plum Slump

  1. Pingback: Pizzettes with whole wheat homemade dough | Bakingflavours

Leave a Reply

