Chocolate and Coffee Cake

chocolate and Coffee CakeWe all are leading into the festival season and Rakhi marks the starting. Actually, when you have a big family, the festival season is always in, in the form of birthdays, marriage anniversaries and other get together for no reasons.

When fun time is there, boring time too exists in the form of routine work  but we have to enjoy all.  Keeping this in mind,  I was ready  for the busy days ahead  as my son’s Summative Assessments  are nearby but when this get together was organized I  welcomed it with open arms.  If you are a regular reader of my posts you might be aware that my son’s birthday party was due and it was decided that we will celebrate both rakhi and his birthday together.

chocolate and coffee cake

We were so happy for this small gathering and especially Virat, who was so enthusiastic to be with his cousins.

As regards my cake, I can definitely say that this is my new favorite sponge.  I tried a new sponge and I was not sure how it would turn out.   Luckily, it has a brilliantly soft sponge and color too was beautiful as I wanted.

chocolate coffee cake

Though I was so excited to make that cake and had some beautiful plans as well  but still making a full fledged cake while they all were at home made me angry at times. Amidst  preparing breakfast,  lunch and other lots of daily work, preparing this cake wasn’t easy  but I knew that  the day ahead would be full of fun and goodness.

chocolate and coffee cake

I tried to make the most of this  visit by clicking lots of photos during my car ride.   I acquainted myself more with the manual mode of my camera. This was one photograph which I captured with glasses of our car on.

learning manual mode

Finally, when we reached home, we all devoured idlies and sambhar (prepared by my sister-in-law) along with cake and then we all girls tied the rakhi and in exchange we all get lots of blessings and gifts.

Gifts

Later, we all headed for a movie,  where kids had laughed their heart out and make hall a difficult place for others.

Rakhi Celebration

Kids’ mamu make their movie more enjoyable by serving them popcorn and cold drinks twice before the movie starts and in between interval.

chocolate and coffee cake

We later went for an indulgent dinner which includes my favourite sizzler and paneer tikka.

It was a wonderful day and I could have stayed there surrounded by my loved ones with loud noises of laughter of kids and conversation all night but I knew, we all have to move on and make plans for some more visits like this (one has already been made for the coming September).

I usually never leveled my cake because I knew it will all hide up with the frosting but this time I leveled it by cutting some and when next day I found these cuttings I  made these chocolate mousse  which we all loved.

chocolate mousse

Recipe adapted from Food Network. I made quite a few changes in the original recipe.

Ingredients

  • Whole wheat flour – 1 3/4 cups
  • Granulated sugar – 1 ½ cup + 2 tbsp
  • Cocoa powder – 3/4 cups
  • Baking soda – 2 teaspoons
  • Baking powder – 1 teaspoon
  • Salt – 1 teaspoon
  • Buttermilk – 1 cup
  • Oil – 1/2 cup
  • Eggs – 4
  • Vanilla essence – 1 teaspoon
  • Hot coffee – 1 cup (1 cup water + 2 tbsp coffee powder, give one boil)
  • Walnuts – ½ cup

Frosting

  • Whipped cream – 2 cup
  • Balsamic strawberry sauce – ½ cup

Sugar syrup

  • Boiled water – ½ cup
  • Sugar – ½ tsp

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degree C. Line two 9inch round cake tins with baking paper, then butter and flour the pans.

Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into the bowl. Fold the walnuts into the dry mixture. In another bowl beat eggs and sugar till pale white in color. Add buttermilk and oil and mix again. Finally fold in the dry ingredients and mix again for 1 minute with an electric mixer. Pour the batter into the prepared pans and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool in the pans for 30 minutes, then turn them out onto a cooling rack and cool completely.

Place 1 layer, flat side up, on a flat plate or cake turntable. With a knife or offset spatula, spread the top with frosting. Drop balsamic strawberries on top. Place the second layer on top, rounded side up, and spread the frosting evenly on the top and sides of the cake. Decorate as desire.spread the top with frosting. Drop balsamic strawberries on top. Place the second layer on top, rounded side up, and spread the frosting evenly on the top and sides of the cake. Decorate as desire.

chocolate and coffee cake

2 thoughts on “Chocolate and Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

