Coconut Laddoos… Happy Janmashtmi

coconut laddoo
Happy Janmashtmi to all. Wish the Almighty always showers his blessing on you and your loved ones  and may he filled your house with happiness.

happy janmashtami

Janmashtmi marks the birth of Lord Krishna. Lots of people keep fast till midnight because it is believed that he was born after midnight. Devotees visit the temple to offer prayers and seek blessings. Temples were illuminated with lights. Images of his infancy are put in a cradle so that people can come and give swing to their lord with lots of affection and love.   On this day, prasad of coconut barfi, fruits and sweet buttermilk is offered to the God and it is made in every home.

coconut laddoo 1

In our home too, it is made every year but we can’t have it till midnight until it  was first offered to God. Till the time we relish this delicacy, we never sleep.  Traditional recipe requires lots of skill and efforts to make. But I chose a very easy recipe to try for the first time.

I didn’t dare to ask my mother-in-law for  the recipe because she used to make in a lot (read lot) and when she will know that I want to try in such a small quantity she would laugh off and say I will make it.  But this time,  I too want to try. Next immediate person, I could think of was my mom but she too told me a very elaborate recipe.  Later, I asked another perfectionist my sister-in-law,  I remembered last year she send a box of the same burfi to all of us which she prepared all by herself and she told me that it was an easy recipe.  This year I tried her recipe and look wise,  it looks very tempting (will got the chance to taste after 12 ‘O’ clock).

coconut burfi 3

Though I wished that I could add some foxnuts and muskmelon seed to it like in the traditional recipe  but didn’t know how and when they can be added in this unique recipe and even she was not aware. So I let this recipe as it is. May be next time I will try a more complex recipe. Until then you enjoy this eesy peesy recipe.

The only change I made in this was I transformed them into  laddoos instead of burfi because I wanted to click photos when my child was not at home because otherwise he will get irritated by my getting occupied in some activity  and I knew it will take time to set.

COCONUT LADOO

Ingredients

  • Dry coconut, including brown part (grated) – 2 cup  * don’t use readymade dessicated coconut for this because we want long and thick shreds
  • Brown sugar – 1 cup
  • water – 1 1/2 cup
  • Milk – 2 tbsp.
  • Ghee – 1 tbsp.

Method

In a pan fry the coconut shreds over medium heat until the coconut milk moisture is reduced, then remove it from heat. In an another pan boil water, when water starts to boiling add sugar and keep on stirring till the water boils. Now, add milk to it. Continue heating it till it becomes thick syrup. Add the coconut to the sugar syrup. Continue cooking till they stick together. It will take around 3 to 4 minutes over low heat. Now add ghee and continue cooking it for another 2 minutes. Grease a tray with oil and pour this mixture into the tray. When cool down a little make balls or cut into squares

Leave a Reply

