Cherry Clafouti

cherry claufoutiHello everyone! It’s been a month now; I was so irregular in posting. The reason was nothing serious but every time I sat down to draw a small picture of my daily life onto paper I felt blank. As you all know, no matter how simple our life is, even then we all have a story to tell as we move forward in life.cherry clafouti
So much was whirring in my mind but somehow, I was just not able to write. Otherwise, it was always like, words  automatically came out, sometimes while cooking, in the middle of the night or just in any time of the day. For that, I have put lots of diaries here and there, so that I can immediately pen down whatever is coming into my mind because if I intentionally sat down to write nothing comes out easily so I have to do that way.  But I think, some days are not meant for such purposes.

cherry clafouti
During those idle days I cleaned all my almirahs, my little portion in my son’s cupboard and rearranged my baking utensils.My treasureIn the last few days we received lots of rain, I carelessly watched the view, when rain has dusted off the dust from everywhere and makes everything shine. I just clicked and clicked without rushing to assemble everything for my post.rainBut baking was never out of mind and to keep the fun quotient alive I kept on putting something or the other every now and then into my magical oven, which never fails to deliver me the best of the best. One such thing I was baked idlies.baked idlies
Today I am sharing a recipe of clafouti. Please don’t get alarmed seeing the pictures of cherries and don’t rush to the market to check, whether they were still available because it has happened with me several times and I like a fool without reading that it was an old post rushed to the market asking for the fruit which has already vanished with a promise to come back next year.cherry clafoutiIt is an old post and I made this when cherries were available in plenty. Whenever you think of cherry’s dessert one thing came in mind is clafouti. I know cherry season has left behind but you can try this with apple, pear, peach and plum and it goes beautifully with strawberries too.cherry clafouti
My son and my mother-in- law rejected this after tasting one bite because not everybody likes a bite of cooked fruit in their dessert but my husband and I both enjoyed it to the last bite.
Recipe adapted from Williams Sonoma

Ingredients
• 2 Tbs. blanched almonds, toasted
• 1 tsp vanilla essence
• 6 Tbsp- sugar
• 3 Tbs whole wheat flour
• 2 eggs
• 1/2 cup milk
• 1/4 cup cream
• 1/2 Tbsp kirsch (I used lemon juice)
• 24 canned cherries, drained or pitted
fresh cherries
Method
Preheat an oven to 400°F. Make a thick paste of almond in a spice grinder. Now blend it will with other ingredients (excluding cherries) either in mixer grinder or in food processor. Let the batter rest for 10 minutes. Divide the cherries in the 6 ramekins. Pour the batter over the cherries, dividing evenly, and bake until puffed and golden brown, about 20 minutes.

Serve them immediately with either dusting of icing sugar or with ice cream. I decided not to add further more calories so we devoured them as it is.

Leave a Reply

