Lemon and Plum Cake

Lemon and Plum Cake

Exam’s season is in and till it is over, baking is simply out of question, but luckily I have lots of  recipes which I have tried earlier and were waiting to see the bright light on my blog.

PLUMSAfter dropping him to the bus stand  I steal some time from everybody to share  some more sweet moments  of my life with you.

Though my child study on his own even then I have to keep myself free for him because every time, I got up to do some work or step into the kitchen to cook, he came to me stated “Mamma, I have finished reading a particular chapter , now you can question anything”, knowing that I am busy and can’t ask anything.  I  think it is genetic even I was an perfect escapist of studies and my mom has to literally drag me to study.

lemon and plum cake

Today  I am sharing a recipe of plum cake which will definitely delight you and you family members with it’s wonderful pairing of plum and lemon.  In this cake, I used fruit in a pureed form instead of chunks. If you are a regular reader you might be aware that my son doesn’t like chunks in a cake. But when he tasted this cake he didn’t even realize that I have infused goodness and color of plum in it.l He thought I added some color to it.

You can  replace plum puree with cut out pieces of fruit but in that case add some ( around ½ ) milk to it, that will give this, a cake like texture instead of a bread.

plum and lemon cake

Whenever you add plum to a cake always make sure that they were not sour  otherwise it will become very tangy and If you have only sour plums with you than skip the lemon juice.

Earlier I thought of adding chocolate to it but I was not sure how my family would react to the combination of  chocolate and plum.   Now when plum has almost disappeared from the market I can try this combination only next year.

vegetables

Recently my father sends me some vegetables. Don’t be surprise his gifts were not limited to dresses, gadgets, sweets or toys. He sends all sorts of amazing things to me. One such thing is this key chain which he bought from his recent train journey. He knows that I love this kind of stuff. I am really blessed to have father like him.  I saved lemons from these  for lemon cake  but slowly all were consumed and leaving just two which I used in this cake.

keyring

Recipe minimally  adapted from the broken bread.

Ingredients

  •  Baking Powder – 1/2 tsp
  •  whole wheat flour – 3/4 cup –
  •  Brown Sugar – 1/3 cup + 2 tbsp
  • pinch of salt
  • vanilla essence – 1/2 tsp
  • eggs – 2
  • oil – 1/4 cup
  • plum puree – 150 ml
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • lemon juice – 1 tsp
  • black currants – 5 – 6

Method
Preheat the oven to 180 degree C. Oil a 6” inch pan and line with baking paper.
In a bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.
Beat eggs and brown sugar together until light and fluffy for about 5 minutes. Add vanilla essence, lemon juice, plum puree and oil. Now, fold in the lemon zest and dry ingredients.
Pour batter into prepared pan, and sprinkle some black currant over the top. Give the berries a little push into the batter, making sure not to fully submerge them.
Bake cake for about 30 – 35 minutes, or until a tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.
Remove cake from oven and allow to cool. Remove cake from pan and transfer to a cooling rack when possible.

plum and lemon cake

Leave a Reply

