Pizzettes with whole wheat homemade dough

mini pizzettes

Raised in a family where preparing meal was not a boring routine but an activity that we all do together to keep the fun quotient alive. Of course, not every day but at least on weekends or on holidays where everybody has an assigned task like chopping, peeling, cooking and tasting.

pizza dough
I tried to apply this method in our home too but my dear husband and son found the most existed option better where only house lady cooks the food.

pizzettes
Till two years ago spices  ruled our home and baking was an alien word to us even though I  kept on  experimenting every now and then with different dishes by reading or following cookbooks or cookery shows but  never came across cakes, might be I skip those wonderful pages of beautifully decorated cakes thinking it requires some professional hands.

mini pizzettes

My father bought, our first OTG only when I started working that too to make paneer Tikka (Roasted Marinated Cheese), a family favorite.   Whenever we eat outside it is still the first thing we always order. That OTG is still with them but I brought that rustic tray from them.

The tray I used in the Gluten free peach and plum slump is the one.

tray
I remember when I was working, everybody in our department was asked to bring some home cooked food and I was asked to bring  a cake to celebrate our boss’s birthday. Thankfully, with the help of a kind neighbor I managed to bake a quite decent vanilla cake and years later I made another one for my  husband on his  birthday after that it became and obsession.

In order to make some spoons and folks rustic, I burnt them.  They will work just fine till the time get some vintage spoons and forks from somewhere.

burnt spoons and forks

I have taken out some of my silver utensils.  They will perfectly give me the look I want for my photographs.

silverware

Enough  from my past and activities,  let’s talk about hero of my today’s post – pizzettes.

We are a family who loves pizza.  But pizza was something which I haven’t share on my blogpost till today, though i made it quite often.  In our home whenever I bake  pizza, they all hover around my oven like bees near their beehive.  I can’t dare to take the honey  from them.   But this time I didn’t made my photography any elaborate affair  just clicked quickly,  hoping and wishing that if they came out nicely I will post them. Luckily, they came out reasonably well. I have  tried this recipe with whole wheat as well as with plain flour. Obviously bread always tastes best with bread flours or with plain flour but we love our whole wheat version too.

mini pizzettes1
To you surprise my son loves my pizza base more than the ready made one but my husband as usual always acts otherwise.

I have learnt watching  some TV. show that if you cook the base on the direct stove  for a second than it tastes wonderful and won’t taste raw and you don’t need to cook it for long in the oven because overcooking resulted in  a hard base. I did the same with my Pizzettes too.

Recipe adapted from Goodfood India Magazine, June’13

Ingredients

for Dough

  • Olive oil for greasing
  • Whole wheat flour – 100gm
  • Dried yeast – 3gm
  • Salt a pinch
  • Sugar – ½ tsp
  • Warm water – 60 ml

for tomato sauce

  • Olive oil – 1 tbsp
  • Garlic clove – 1 thinly sliced
  • Tomatoes – 250 gm, chopped
  • Oregano, salt and pepper to season
  • Mozzarella – 125 gm, sliced
  • Capsicum – 1 small, sliced
  • Tomato – 1 big, diced
  • Onion – 1 big, diced
  • Black olive – 4-5 diced

Method

for Dough
Preheat the oven at 240 degree C. Oil a tray or line a baking tray . Mix the flour, yeast, salt and sugar in a bowl, then stir in the water. Bring the mixture together and knead until smooth. Rest the dough for 30 minutes. Flatten the dough around ½ cm thin. Cut small roundrels either with cookie cutter or with a bowl . Put them on a oiled tray for ½ an hour covered in a warm place. They will puff up a little now cook each roundrel  by placing it on a hot tawa on gas stove for a second on both the sides. Once cooked from both the sides put them back onto the greased tray.
For sauce
Heat the olive oil in a pan, add the garlic and cook for a minute. Add the tomatoes, season, then cook for 10 – 15 minutes until thickened and reduced. Cool.
Assembling
Spread a thin layer of the tomato sauce over the base, leaving a small border top with mozzarella, then spread some diced tomato, onion, capsicum and black olive. Season with salt and pepper. Bake for 5 minutes, until puffed and golden. To serve sprinkle some oregano.

Leave a Reply

