Whole wheat Honey Oatmeal bread.. healthy thing to eat during Diwali

oats and honey bread with yeastAfter much consideration, my husband announced that no whitewash will be done this year. So I have to took the charge of cleaning the house for Diwali to welcome Goddess Laxmi.   It is believed that  She visits  each and every house of her devotees during Diwali.

After cleaning taken care of, it’s the time to rejoice by having good food and fun.

kneading
No matter, how hard we try, to restraint ourselves from sweets  and other fried items during festival time we can’t avoid them. And when your sweet quota is full, baking a cake or cookies doesn’t seems the right option, instead some healthy stuff which we eat regularly seems the perfect choice.

dough to prove I really want to graduate myself  by trying some complex  baking. But I  know, if I starts baking more, than  consumption  will be a big problem.  For that, I  am seriously thinking about holding some stall somewhere, but before that, I have to take approval from my husband, which is the most difficult thing. I hope he will support me this time too.

whol wheat oatmeal bread Coming back to my post of the day, I have seen many bakeries too have introduced healthy stuff in their bakeries.  People have slowly changing their food habits.   This encourages me more and I have already bought more healthy flours  like jowar, amaranth, finger millet for new adventures.  Let’s see what interesting, I will, come up with.

whole wheat oatmeal bread
For today,  oats, an all time favorite seems perfect. Earlier, I have used it extensively in my  baking, be it in  granola, muesli, cookies, and cakes. Bread too seems an interesting thing to try with this versatile cereal. And I must say it didn’t disappoint me. Honey added the slightly sweet flavor to it.

I love to have my this bread with some home made jamsbread with homemade jam

Recipe adapted from Tastykitchen.  The only changes I have made were  I replaced the plain flour with whole wheat  flour and omitted the salt by using salted butter.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Water
  • 1 cup Milk
  •  2-¼ teaspoons Active Dry Yeast
  •  2 Tablespoons Honey
  • 4½ cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 cup Rolled Oats, Plus More For Topping Loaf
  •  4 Tablespoons Butter, Melted And Cooled Slightly

Method

Add yeast, warm water(not too hot) and honey in an bowl . Let it sit  for 10 minutes until yeast is foamy.

Stir in flour, oat and  butter. Knead this for 10 minutes  until dough is smooth, elastic and only slightly sticky.  Keep dough in bowl and cover with a tea towel. Let rise 1 hour until doubled.

When dough is doubled, punch down and transfer to a lightly floured surface. Press into an 8-by-8-inch square, then tuck in sides slightly and roll up into a log. Transfer to a lightly greased 9-by-5-inch loaf pan, seam-side down. Cover with a tea towel and let rise 30 to 40 minutes until dough reaches the edges of the pan (but not doubled).

Heat oven to 400ºF (375ºF if loaf pan is dark or nonstick). Sprinkle oats on top of risen loaf. Bake 40 to 50 minutes, rotating halfway through baking, until loaf is deep brown on top and sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom. Remove from loaf pan and transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

whole wheat oatmeal bread

2 thoughts on “Whole wheat Honey Oatmeal bread.. healthy thing to eat during Diwali

Leave a Reply

