Pumpkin Swirl Brownie

Pumpkin Swirl BrownieBhaiya Dooj marks the festivity of brothers and sisters. On this day we sisters apply tikka on our’s brother’s forehead and pray for their long and happy life.pumpkin swirl brownie1
Every year my brother and my father makes extra efforts to organize more and more family get together ( our Ujjain trip was a recent and memorable one) but no matter how often we meet l  never get enough of my  family including a gem…. a  brother  with golden heart, a true angel.  May God fulfill  all the wishes of this gentle soul.  Pumpkin Swirl brownie
When he, my nephews and my sister came, I was so desperate to talk to them that I didn’t even serve them anything and sat down to have a good laugh with them.  We talk about so many things including the ever increasing nonsense of our kids but very soon he raised his eyebrows to look at the time only then I got the indication that it’s the time to do tikka.pumpkinWe later headed for the worst  lunch, made by me. Every year, I planned a special meal for them but ended up making a simple menu that I am feeling embarrassed in sharing. . But I hope, I was able to please kids with my this and one more dessert (recipe will share soon), I  had planned doughnut for them, but I was not sure how yeast will react and I didn’t want to take chance on  that busy day.

pumpkin swirl brownie2
I have got some more beautiful gifts from them. I hope they too would found some space in my son’s almirah. First I took just half of a rack in his almirah then he showed some mercy on me by giving me one full rack but now I managed to occupy two racks.
gifts

Recipe for pumpkin swirl adapted from White on rice couple with a few changes

Ingredients
For Pumpkin swirl

  • Cream Cheese – 50 gm
  • Pumpkin Puree- 50 gm(I boiled pumpkin with very little water instead of roasting it)
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Yogurt – 2 tsp

For brownie

  • Whole wheat flour – 2/3 cup
  • Chocolate chips –  1/4 cup
  • Brown sugar – 1/3 cup
  • Butter – 100gms
  • Dark chocolate – 100 gms
  • Eggs – 3
  • Vanilla essence – 2 tsp
  • Salt a pinch
  • Baking powder – 1tsp
  • Walnut – 10

Method
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Line a baking tray of 8” by 9”  rectangular pan with baking paper. Melt butter and dark chocolate in a pan over low heat u ntil chocolate melts. Let it come on room temperature.  In another bowl sieve flour, salt and baking powder. Beat eggs and sugar in another bowl then add chocolate mixture and mix well. Slowly fold the flour mixture. Now pour this mixture in the prepared pan. Now drop spoonful by spoonful pumpkin mixture here and there on brownie mixture and make some swirl with the help of a folk. Bake for about 25 to 30 minutes or until it is cooked properly.
Initially, when I watched from the glass door of my oven I was so disappointed to see the swirl color, it all seem blend up with dark brown color but once it was baked the color came out perfectly.

 

Leave a Reply

