Chocolate Decoration Cake

chocolate decoration cakeAt 6, when I step outside in my balcony I feel like wrapping myself with a shawl, but  warm clothes haven’t yet come out of closet.  I went back to my comfortable and cozy room where everybody were sleeping, I took out my laptop to delete some of the ever increasing photographs,  only then I noticed pictures of this cake.Chocolate decoration cake8I always look forward to making a cake for my sweet heart and very caring nephew.   He always makes me believe that my cakes were much much better than the bakeries.chocolate decoration cakeI still  choked up thinking about that  gifted day when he entered our lives and we never felt so much happiness before.  Now, that tiny miny delicate angel has became 5 foot 11 inches tall and always try to give his helping hand to us.  God bless him.

Strength of any home made cakes lies in the use of fresh ingredients.  And when you baked stuff is finished in minutes, you know that they liked the cake and with him, it always happens.chocolate decoration cakeToday I am sharing a recipe of a cake which I made for him on his birthday, which falls in the month of April,   before I delay it more further and we all reached his next birthday date, I decided to share this with you today.chocolate decoration cake
My last year cake didn’t impressed my brother much, actually it is very difficult to please him in terms of decoration and he told me that I can make much better looking cakes than that one. He even complaint  of using  less chocolate.icing the cake
So this time I tried to put as much chocolate as I could, like in sponge and in decoration. This time even my critical brother was happy with the decoration. I was really wishing to add some chocolate collar around the cake but as you all know April is a hot month and in that month it will fall off once the hot air or even the fan air touches it. chocolate decoration cake 6For his birthday my father had planned a movie and dinner outside and cake cutting was decided to be done at home.  So we watched a nice movie together then headed off to our favorite restaurant for a great dinner near their house.  Came back home to taste  my work of labor.  Yes, I prepared sponge, rice crispies, ganache, nougat and this flower cut out (which I will share soon) all on the same day. But all my efforts pays off when they all said so many beautiful things about my cake.

Recipe adapted from The Cake Bible

Ingredients (I used Indian measuring cup for measurement)
For chocolate genoise
• Dark Chocolate – 250 gms
• Boiling water – 1 cup
• Eggs – 10
• Sugar – loosely pack 1 cup
• Whole wheat flour – 1 ¼ cup
• Corn flour – ¼ cup
• Vanilla essence – 1 tbsp
For syrup
• Sugar- 1 tbsp
• Water – ¾ cup
• Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
For filling
• Whipped cream – 2 ½ cup
• Strawberry or any jam you like – 1 tbsp
Chocolate balls
• Melted dark chocolate – ½ cup
• Rice crispies or any crushed nuts – ½ cup
Method
For genoise
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Sift both the flours in a bowl and keep it aside. Grease and line two 9” baking pan with baking paper. In a pan bring the chocolate and water to a boil over low heat, stirring constantly. Simmer, stirring for 5 minutes or until the chocolate thickens to a pudding like consistency. Cool completely then add vanilla essence.
In a bowl, beat the eggs and sugar with hand blender on high for 10 minutes or until triple in volume. Add ½ of the flour over the mixture and fold it in gently with a rubber spatula until all the flour disappeared. Repeat with remaining flour. Finally fold in the chocolate mixture until well combined. Now pour this batter in the prepared tin equally. Bake for about 30 minutes or until it is cooked properly. Let it cool down on a wire rack. Later, loosen the sides of the cakes with a knife and unmold it and let it cool on a wire rack . Trim the top crust.
For syrup
Boil water in a pan then switch off the gas and add sugar to it. Once the sugar dissolves add vanilla essence. Put in the freeze to cool down.
For filling
Take 1/2 cup of whipped cream in a bowl add strawberry jam to it and mix it gently without loosing the air wrapped in cream.
Chocolate balls
Mix chocolate and rice crispies with a wooden spoon. If you have some chocolate molds you can spoon the mixture in those molds and put this in the freeze to chill.
Assembling
Place the card board on a plate put one sponge on to the board. Sprinkle half of the syrup on the sponge and top with cream. Sprinkle some crushed nougat all over.
Place another layer, cut side down over the iced sponge and sprinkle remaining sugar syrup on the top.
Now ice the cake with the remaining whipped cream. Decorate with some chocolate and ganache.
Sprinkles or other decoration too can be used.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Decoration Cake

Leave a Reply

