Nutella/Hazelnut Cake….my 200th post story

As soon as I drop my son to the bus stand I immediately rushed back home without wasting any more time to say ‘hello’ again to you all.  In the last week, every time I sat down to compile my post some call or the other came from them and I have to pack my computer there and then.hazelnut cakeToday I have a reason to celebrate as it is my 200th post and with every new day the passion of baking and blogging is getting stronger and stronger.    In my one and a half delightful years of blogging I shared my favorite recipes, dreams, stories and sometime my strongest emotions with you without caring that you would laugh off reading  so much such things which were irrelevant to you  and  not to forget my so many  grammatical mistakes but you didn’t and in fact appreciated me and sometime rewarded me by pressing the LIKE button on my blog and sometime by leaving very encouraging comments. I owe you  all, my dear readers. nutella cake
From then to now, no matter how much I have baked I simply couldn’t get enough of it.  Everyday you will find me plotting my next move, my next adventure; earlier baking happens just once in a week but now it happens almost everyday.  My house too reflects my this passion.

The only mirror in our house is always occupied with stick notes with recipes written on them (see below).  My cupboards are flooded with props some very proudly occupied  the front place but some were  kept hidden from my husband because they were really in bad condition and nobody wants to see such things in their home. nutella cakeIt is quite possible that would not find some spices, pulses or some other regular stuff in my pantry but it never falls short off of any baking stuff. I have almost every kind of baking tins and tools which I feel are really irrelevant.   For baking, all you need is just a tin, a whisk and a bowl but  I love to spend all my savings in buying all such things.

hazelnut paste
But before I share today’s recipe I must tell you the other reasons of my last week absence.  I bake lots of cakes in my last few days like one for our family friend, others for my beautiful niece and sister, some for experiments for no particular reason and one for my today’s post. eggsOther than baking, I was busy in helping my son in his school projects (see below, is the picture of one such thing, which he made out of waste like match boxes and newspaper).  I made some little arrangements in my small balcony garden.  I also bought  these two  pretty yellow ramekins and one more thing which I added in my collection is this white pepper box, which I  purchased for just Rs. 30 from a nearby shop.  I got this  so cheap because it has a little crack mark on it  and it was from a set of two. 200 th postI bake this very simple Nutella Cake for this celebration. After giving everybody a small portion I saved the rest for me. It was super delicious.hazelnut Cake
Recipe adapted from Nigella. I changed the recipe a bit.

Ingredients
• Eggs – 4 (separated)
• Salted butter- 60 gm
• Nutella – 200 gm or half a jar (some extra for drizzling)
• Orange juice or water- 1 tbsp
• Whole wheat flour – ½ cup
• Melted Dark chocolate – 50 gm
• Some toasted hazelnuts for garnishing

Method
Preheat the oven to 180ºC and grease and line a 6 inches round tin.  In a large bowl, whisk the egg whites until stiff. In a separate bowl, beat the butter, orange juice and Nutella together, and then add egg yolks and flour. Fold in the cooled, melted chocolate, then lighten the mixture with a large dollop of egg white, then fold the remaining without losing the air out. Pour this into the prepared tin and cook for 30 minutes or until the cake’s beginning to come away at the sides, then let cool on a rack. Drizzle some nutella over and some toasted hazelnuts.

 

2 thoughts on “Nutella/Hazelnut Cake….my 200th post story

  1. The cake looks so yummy…I am also very fond of cooking as well and i will surely try the recipe out in this weekend and make it as you did….i wish to succeed…thank u for the wonderful recipe…keep posting with lots more…

Leave a Reply

