Persimmon Loaf Cake

persimmon cakeAnother weak has flew off and I didn’t share anything with you.  Every time I missed my rhythm of posting I start making excuses or blame it on my household chores but this time I won’t.  I had plenty of time with me but I didn’t’ feel like drafting or compiling.    I  decided that instead of just filling the gap  I better take my time and put something before you only when I feel like.      Most importantly, sometimes it is fun to break the routine.hachiya persimmon
I might be getting a litter lazier in  posting but I quite happily baked lot ‘n’ lots of cakes last week. I can talk about them later but my Persimmon cake needs my primarily mention and attention, so that you too can use this beautiful colored fruit in as many ways before it bid adieu to us.persimmon loaf cakeI am glad that this fruit is getting popular here and now more and more people demand this fruit,   that is why now even our local vendor stock this fruit.  It is fresh, delicious and wholesome.   Recently I even saw for the first time fresh cranberries and blueberries in a mall.  persimmon cake
Last year I experimented with Fuyu variety but this time I got Hachiya. Lookwise and tastewise they both are different.  I read on net that you can’t consume hachiya  variety until it is perfectly ripe because it leaves a very astringent  taste in your mouth. I have read that they took  more than one month to get ripe but mine took just two days. I put them near a window in a fruit basket and as you can see the results in my clicks.

persimmon cake
The fruit added the extra moistness to the cake and next day it became more tastier.

Persimmon is available in plenty my dear friends, go and ask your vendor  and make most of it.persimmon loaf cake
During the last weekend I surprised my son by announcing that we will visit  a book fair in a nearby school. I got to know about this, through an ad in a newspaper and I immediately cut that ad and post it on his board. As expected he was so happy to know that we are going to book fair.   Though it was a small book fair but we still  managed to find some of the books of his liking. He later told me that he would love to go to any such fair again. I will too make sure that he would miss any such fair again. book fairI adapted the recipe from epicurious.
Ingredients
• 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter plus more for pan
• 1 ½ cup – whole wheat flour plus more for pan
• 1/2 cup- chocolate chips
• 1 tsp – baking soda
• 1 tsp – salt
• 4 large – very ripe Hachiya persimmons
• 1/3 cup – buttermilk
• 2 tbsp – orange zest
• 1 cup – brown sugar
• 4 – small eggs
Method
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Butter or line a 9x5x3″ loaf pan. In a bowl sift flour, baking soda and salt together. In another bowl beat butter and sugar till light and fluffy then add egg one by one whisking continuously after each addition.
Make a smooth puree of persimmon in a grinder, add buttermilk and orange zest.
Gradually add persimmon mixture to the butter mixture and beat again. Finally fold the dry ingredients and Chocó chips into the wet and pour batter into prepared loaf pan. Bake until a tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Unmold and let cool completely on a wire rack.

persimmon cake

Leave a Reply

