ANZAC Biscuits with or without buckwheat flour

anzac cookiesAt 5.30 in the morning when  I went outside in my balcony, it all seemed a clear day to me and was showing no signs of fog and chillness for the day ahead.anzac cookies with buckwheat flourI have been doing this for the last few days, every morning  I open the door with a hope to see some first morning mist of the season.  I love to watch  my breath coming out when I’ll open my mouth and feel the cloud of fog all around me and these are the only few days in a year when I  can actually experience a SEASON called winter.  I know that chillness won’t do any good to me but still I love it. All disappointed I pulled a chair inside my kitchen to cut zucchini for my son’s lunchbox. Only recently I discovered that zucchini can be used in our day to day meal other than baking cakes and cookies.ANZAC biscuits After packing his lunch and sending him to school my first task of the day was over then I quickly picked some winter greens and some carrots from a vegetable vendor.vegetables for the mealAs I sat down relaxed by keeping my feet on the table to cut them I saw a few messages from my sister. After answering them all, I opened the door, because till then whatever little bit of coldness we face in the morning too have descended and the warmness of sun took over. I gear up to finish my work so that I can bake some bread. I will share about the success story of my bread very soon.ANZAC BISCUITS
When Christmas is just around the corner ANZAC biscuits, which is full of goodness are just right for gifting purposes.  They are  the most favorite in our household and I can’t even count how many times I have made them especially on my son’s request. I keep on experimenting with them; sometimes I replace some whole wheat flour with some popped amaranth other times with almond flour. But very recently I tried making them with buckwheat flour,  which they all liked as much as the original one but I found it very strong and bitter. Next time, I will pair this flour with chocolate; I hope it will then hit my taste bud.

ANZAC BISCUITS
Recipe adapted from Plateful
Ingredients

• Butter – 125g
• Honey – 2 tablespoons
• Water – 1 tablespoon
• baking soda – ½ tsp
• brown sugar – 1 cup
• desiccated coconut – ½ cup
• oats – 1 cup
• whole wheat flour – 1 cup

Method

Preheat oven to 160oC. Melt the butter, honey and water in a saucepan over low heat, stirring occasionally until smooth. Remove from heat, and then stir in soda.

In a bowl combine the dry ingredients—sugar, oats, coconut, flour. Pour in the melted butter mixture, then knead this mixture until well combined. Add a bit more water if the mixture is too dry to hold together.

Roll tablespoon of mixture into balls, place about 5cm (2 inches) apart on trays and flatten slightly with the back of a measuring cup. Bake about 15-20 minutes or until cooked and golden, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely. Note that the biscuit should still feel soft when cooked; they will firm up as they cool. Again, do not cook them for too long as they tend to become crisp and dry quite easily.

*For buckwheat biscuits, I just replaced 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour with buckwheat flour

Leave a Reply

