Chocolate Vanilla Bundt Cake….a flashback

Chocolate and vanilla bundt cakeAs they played carom I took out my quilts to put a cover on them.  Yesterday night, I felt it’s need and moreover a forecast too has been made about the foggy days ahead and as a caretaker I need to  take care that  everyone stays warm and protected. Chocolate and vanilla bundt cakeAmidst the noise of sticker and coins hitting the sides of the board, I seal the cover with a thread  then I suddenly heard a loud proud note from my husband when he got the queen. That was enough to took  him back to his college days  and there he started sharing stories of his past and Virat, very excitedly paused his game to know the next part of his story but  as expected his story was over in his next sentence (like me, not everybody has lots to share). Dorie GreenspanSeeing my son’s curious face I thought about the times  when my father, aunts and uncles used to narrates their story of their childhood to us.  They infuse so much fun in their stories that we can’t stop laughing hearing them. Their every new  story excites us but many a times they forgot that they have told the story before. They haven’t changed a bit till today. Chocolate and vanilla bundt cake
I could listen to their stories nonstop but for now  their call for dinner brought me back to the days where I play the narrator part most perfectly.

Last winter when I visited my sister I took this cake with me. I indented to make  a marble cake but  forgot  to give it the   required swirl, mentioned in the book.  With Dorie Greenspan’s recipe you can’t go wrong.  It was a delicious cake. chocolate and vanillla cake
Recipe adapted from Baking from my home to yours
Ingredients
• Whole wheat flour – 1 ¼ cup
• Walnuts – ¼ cup
• Baking powder – 1/2 tsp
• Salt – 1/2 tsp (omit. if using salted butter)
• Butter, at room temperature – 125 gms
• Cooking chocolate, coarsely chopped – 50 gm
• Coffee – 1/8 cup
• Any coffee powder – ½ tsp
• Sugar – ¾ cup
• Small eggs –3
• Vanilla essence – 1tsp
• Whole milk, at room temperature – ½ cup
Method
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Butter a 6 -7 inch bundt pan, dust the inside with flour and tap out the excess.
In a bowl whisk together the flour, ground walnuts, baking powder and salt (if using). In another bowl put chocolate chunks, 2 tablespoons of butter and coffee and coffee powder and microwave on high for about 1 to 2 minutes or until the mixture is smooth and silky. In another bowl beat remaining butter and sugar for about 3 minutes . Beat in the eggs one by one. Add the vanilla essence and milk to the mixture now fold in the dry ingredients. Take a little less than half the batter into another bowl and blend the chocolate mixture thoroughly.
I poured the chocolate batter into the Bundt pan then top it with vanilla batter. If you want the marble effect, alternate spoonsful of light and dark batter in the pan(which I was intented to do but I forgot) When all the batter is in the pan, swirl a table knife through the batters to marble them.
Bake for about 40 to 45 minutes, or until a thin knife inserted deep in to the center of the cake comes out clean. Transfer the Bundt pan to a rack and let cool for 10 minutes before unmolding, then cool the cake completely on the rack.

Please note. Color of the vanilla layer is not white  because I used whole wheat flour in it.

Leave a Reply

