Egg-less Pink Pepper Savory Cookies….sunny moments

IMG_6841

In this bitterly cold weekend we did receive some little sunshine in afternoon and this brief appearance of Sun brought my son and me to the park where we both spend some time sitting and munching on the bench. sunny momentss

Other than just sitting we took some rounds, played on the swings and slides, chased beautiful and colorful butterflies, while he tried to catch one my intention was to click a close up.   Sometimes we just watched the birds feeding and fly off spreading their wings when we go near.

sunny moments

We did try to read our story books which we took with us to the park but we found reading  people and nature around more interesting. As I was taking in the simple pleasures of life he asked me to go back home.  I knew, now he won’t stay there any longer as he needed some change in activities.   Finally I lifted  a bundle of twigs which we have  collected and returned back home.sunny moments2
Later, at home too we had more fun together as we took out ornaments and lights to decorate our Christmas tree. christmas preparations

When he got busy in decorating it, I put the twigs in the beautiful vase, my brother gifted me long time ago. I love these kinds of arrangements in my home.IMG_2463

I also made a batch of fondant, to try some animal figures which I learnt on youtube and made another cake for some of our family friend in which I adapted some another technique of icing, again learnt on net(hopefully, I will able to share it soon).

savory cookiessavory cookies

Today I am sharing a recipe of a cookie which I made so many times in my house and every time with different spice and flavor. When my husband and son loves their batch of sweet cookies, me and my mother-in-law loves our spices filled cookies.

pink pepper savory cookies

Ingredients
• Soft butter – 100gm
• Whole wheat flour – 8 tbsp
• Baking powder – ½ tsp
• Salt – ½ tbsp
• Ajwain (carom seeds) – 1/2 tbsp
• Crushed pink pepper or black pepper – ½ tsp + more for sprinkling on top
• Flax seeds meal – 1 tbsp
• Water – 3 tbsp
Method
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Sieve flour, baking powder, salt in a bowl then tip in the ajwain and pink pepper. In another bowl mix flax seeds meal and water and let it rest for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes add flax seeds slurry and soft butter into the dry ingredients mixture and knead to make it soft dough. Wrap this in a cling film and put this in the freeze for 2 hours.
Sprinkle the kitchen slab with flour, place disk of dough on it, and sprinkle a little more flour on top of that. Then roll it out to a thickness of about 1/4-inch. Cut into shapes, dipping the cutter into flour as you go, and place the cookies a little apart on baking sheets.

Put them in the preheated oven for about 8 to 12 minutes or until they were golden from the edges. Remember to swap them around after 5 minutes for even baking. Once baked remove them carefully and put them on a wire rack to cool down.

eggless savory pink pepper cookies

2 thoughts on “Egg-less Pink Pepper Savory Cookies….sunny moments

Leave a Reply

