Baked Strawberry Cheese Cake Tart….happy new year

Baked strawberry Cheese Tart

I wiped some frost from the window to get some refreshing view of the first day of the New Year.

NEW YEAR

I knew I have to cook something out of the ordinary today. But as their vacation have started, I didn’t have to rush for anything. So I sat down pulling a chair beside the window to have some conversation with you – in this space.

strawberry

My preparations or plotting for my this post was started  right  from the time  I finished my last one but somehow to make a string of word took these many days.strawberry cheese cake tart 

It’s not very long ago, when I started this blog but I felt that it a journey that I would love to continue for forever. I know you are finding excess of mistakes I  my writing but I hope are noticing  excess of enthusiasm  as well.

Every attempt in writing and baking, produces some incredible memories. Sometimes some dishes came out so good that they ate hot out of the oven without letting me to take any pictures other times it was so bad that I have to throw my efforts in a bin. Sometimes I laugh at my mistakes other times I cry.

In the past one and a half year I have made more of cakes, cookies than our traditional recipes like halwa and ladoos. As I write the word halwa, making it would be an obvious choice for new year.  As I put the grated carrots in the milk to boil they all woke up by the smell of it. I closed my diary there and then to wish them happy new year. halwa

Last week, I visited a mall, to buy some book for my nephew’s birthday. After buying that book, I dashed straight into the food store to check any new fruit or vegetable, there I notice these beautiful strawberries, I felt like cheering (if you have read my old posts you might be aware how much I love them).

I put so many boxes of strawberries in my cart.  Unfortunately, they were not as sweet as i expected but they need to be consumed somehow, so I used some in fruit salad and one packet I saved for this recipe.  Cheese cake is something which stands on top of my favorites, but surprisingly never tried before.When it was cooled and served, my son declared it the best cake he ever had.

Recipe adapted from Taste
Ingredients
• Any plain biscuits of your choice – 125 gm
• Melted butter – 60 gm
• Cream cheese – 250 gm
• Castor sugar – ¼ cup + 2 tbsp
• Hung curd or sour cream – ¼ cup + 2 tbsp
• Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
• Lemon rind – 1 tsp
• Small Eggs – 2 – 1 tbsp
For serving
• 10 diced strawberries
• Sugar – 2 tbsp
• Lemon juice – 1 tsp

Method

Preheat oven to 160°C. Grease a 5 cm loose bottom tart tin. Process biscuits until mixture resemble fine breadcrumbs. Add butter. Process until combined. Press mixture over base and sides of tin. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. Process cream cheese, sugar, yogurt or sour cream, vanilla and lemon rind until smooth. Add eggs, 1 at a time, processing until just combined. Pour into prepared pan. Bake for 30 minutes to 35 minutes or until just set and centre wobbles slightly. Allow to cool in oven for 2 hours, with door ajar. Refrigerate overnight.

For serving
In a bowl mix chopped strawberries, lemon juice and sugar. Cover it with some cling film and let it rest for 30 minutes.

Once your cake is cooled pour this strawberry mixture over and serve.

Leave a Reply

