Applesauce Cake with Chocolate Cream…a wholesome and fruity start

applesauce cake with chocolate creamHello friends, after a hiatus of more than 15 days I am glad to come back to my old schedule which I love for its own reasons.  I know vacations has it own charm, it is the only time  when we can catch with our family and friends, sleep as long as we want as there were no lunch to be packed,  watch all the good old movies which were missed for long, sit in the sun and enjoy the warmness and  sleep late at nights with no homework and no distractions.. My vacations, too were that beautiful, full of family and friends and I clicked lots ‘n’ lots of  photographs.apples and bananas I will share those heartwarming memories in my next post as bits of those are stored here and there and I need a peaceful time to assemble them.   But before that I really felt the  need to break the gap of my long absence and today’s post is just for that. applesauce cake with chocolate creamm. This morning when my alarm clock rang, I realized that my son’s vacations were over. In my half conscious state of mind I walk into the kitchen to prepare tea and to cut bhindi, which were lying on my kitchen slab. To make sure he finished his lunch in the school, I cook whatever he approves at night. ladyfinger for lunch As I put them in the pan to cook,  I sat down to slurp my tea while  thinking about my today’s post. Thinking about posting again gave me a sudden urge to rush to my laptop, but to avoid any distractions I decided to do once my  my routine chores were over.applesauce cake ... Today I will be sharing a recipe of a cake which I made very recently for a family friend who has set very high standard for my cakes. At first, I thought, that I will use an old trusted recipe of chocolate cake which will surely  win them over but making a same recipe would be no fun, so I made some sponges using lots of fruit and with no oil. With no butter or curd used, sponge came out not so moist and was a bit dry.    I moistened the sponges with some extra sugar syrup  but I  was a little apprehensive while gifting this cake to them  but all my apprehensions were proved wrong when they said all good things about the cake. applesauce cake . Ingredients • Eggs – 3 • Bananas – 2 medium • Sugar – ½ cup • Milk – 1 cup • Almonds – chopped – 2 tbsp • Orange juice of one orange • Orange rind – ½ tsp • Baking powder – 1 tsp • Baking soda – 1 tsp • Salt – ¼ tsp • Whole wheat flour – 2 cup • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp • Applesauce – 1 cup For sugar syrup • Boiled water – ½ cup • Sugar – 1 tsp For icing • Whipped cream – 1 ½ cup • Vanilla essence – 1tsp • melted chocolate – 2 to 3 tbsp or more according to your taste for Ganache • Amul Cream – 150 ml • Dark Chocolate – 200 g For applesauce • Small red apple, peeled and grated – 3 • Lemon juice – 1 tsp • Brown sugar – 1 tbsp • Water – 1 tbsp Method Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. In a bowl sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Coat the chopped almonds into the flour. In another bowl mix thoroughly sugar and applesauce then add egg one by one whisking well after each addition. Add juice, vanilla essence, orange rind, milk and pureed banana to it. Finally fold the dry ingredients into the wet. Pour this batter into three 5” cake tin and bake for about 20 to 25 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean. For sugar syrup Mix sugar into the hot water and let it mix properly. For icing Heat 2 tbsp of cream in a pan over low heat then add the melted chocolate to it. Once mixed fold this into the whipped cream. For ganache Place the chocolate into a medium bowl. Heat the cream in a small sauce pan over medium heat. Bring just to a boil, watching very carefully because if it boils for a few seconds, it will boil out of the pot. When the cream has come to a boil, pour over the chopped chocolate, and whisk until smooth. For applesauce In a pan add the grated apple with lemon juice, water and brown sugar. Cook it on slow flame for 20 minutes. Assembling Turn the sponge on a wire rack to cool completely. When cool, sprinkle some sugar syrup then spread a layer of ganache then cover with another layer and repeat the above process. Finally put the third and final layer on top sprinkle some sugar syrup then spread a layer of whipped cream all over. Garnish as desire.

Leave a Reply

