best ever carrot cake….a delightful account of my winter holidays…Part 1

After all the hustle bustle of holidays, life has now slowed down a bit.  Simple and easy to cook dishes have been put on the menu instead of  lavish and exciting dishes.   All the sparkle or glitter too have faded away but how can the sweet memories.

For me, winter vacations has always been the time, when I  spend a few days at my parent’s house.   Wrapping an old year and welcoming  a new one with them has became a kind of  a tradition and which I never want to  miss.Over the years so much have changed and have raised many health issues with them but that never stops them to spread love and cheer.

I remember how on every New Year’s Eve our house emanates with the smells of spices used in mathri, which were being made while watching new year’s program.   Eating  mathri, fresh out of the frying pan never tasted so good and that too with a creamy cup of tea which my father  makes for us.

With all such beautiful memories, which are stamped in my heart, we all reached there along with our kids who then, transformed  their calm and quiet home into a storm house by their loud voices of laugh, cry and fight (when I typed that word, my son came and said, “Mom, we never fight.”my kids
To keep their energy level high, sweets were always piled high on the table but sometimes even that were not  enough to satisfy their suddenly increased appetite. When my mom spends long hours in the kitchen to feed the hungry kids, I too showed them my culinary expertise (I know, my husband would laugh reading this)other cakesBaking become a more pleasurable event when there are lots of people to eat and appreciate and if, the admirers are as big as my nephews you are compelled to bake more and more. I baked cinnamon roll, coffee pound cake (which I steamed in cooker), brownie and my best ever carrot cake for them. I even tried making donuts for them but failed to finished them with frosting  as one of the kid fell ill.best ever carrot cake
I have got plenty of time to photograph their  beautiful  lush garden which has lots of memories associated. My father and I had  planted lots of plants (especially vegetables) in that batch around 25 long years back but it was more beautifully transformed into a lawn by my sister-in-law.beautiful lawn
Sadly, she hasn’t planted any vegetable in that batch but a big guava tree proudly occupies some space in her garden.home grown gauvas
I can’t stop admiring the walls of their house which showcase the talent of Jyoti (my sister-in-law’s sister). She is a truly gifted artist but again she is too lazy to take this as a profession.art work
I know every time we visit there it put an undue strain on them but to us visiting there is the most heartwarming and relaxed time of the year.

Recipe adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction.
Ingredients

  • Brown sugar – 1 cup
  • Thick curd – ¼ cup
  • Eggs – 4
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Whole wheat flour – 2 cup
  • Baking soda – 1 tsp
  • Cinnamon – ¼ tsp
  • Oil – ¾ cup
  • Salt – ¼ tsp
  • Finely grated carrots – 4 small or 2 cups
  • Chocolate chips – a fistful
  • Walnuts – ½ cup
    Method
    Preheat the oven at 180 degree C and grease a 9 “ cake tin. Sift all the dry ingredients in a bowl. Fold the chocolate chips and walnuts into it. In another bowl beat the eggs add the yogurt and beat again then add the grated carrots, oil and vanilla essence and mix well. Finally pour the liquid mixture into the dry ingredients and mix well. Pour this in the prepared tin and bake for about 40 minutes or until the toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Do not overbake, which will dry out cake
One thought on “best ever carrot cake….a delightful account of my winter holidays…Part 1

Leave a Reply

