Spinach and Strawberry Salad…. a family getaway to Agra

Taj MahalSo much was whirring in my mind but words just refused to come out, I think someday you need  more than your usual cup of tea to bring things out. After spending more than an hour sitting blank in front of my laptop, I decided to take a brisk walk in the nearby park and surprisingly it worked.my brother-in-law and his family
During new year’s time when they visited India, my brother-in-law and his family made an impromptu plan for Agra roping all the kids and us..A road trip was being organized and soon we all were on our way  to commemorate togetherness.

When we hit the road, the day  looks all clear and crisp but soon afterwards  a dense fog wrapped  around us, making almost impossible to move.  But we kept our journey going by braving every obstacle coming our way.  mustard fields
Taking in the endless views from the window of my seat with no distraction, sometime lost in my world, I took the most of the trip. May be that is the reason that  I always like the journey more than the destination.

We reached Agra late so visiting Taj was postponed for another day.trip to agra1Next day we left the hotel early, after parking our car, we  boarded the tonga while some preferred walking.The Taj MahalOn the way we passed a few shops which were surprisingly open even that early. As soon as we entered the premises, cameras of all kinds and sizes came out, to click the most amazing  Taj.
Seeing cameras in everybody’s hand my son took mine. These are some of the gems clicked by him.

IMG_3437

a door in agraaAfter filling our eyes and heart to the brim we  all realized our bellies were empty, to fill that up we went straight to a nearby restaurant.  After having delicious brunch of Aloo Bhajhi we hopped into our cars to return back.

Back home too, all plans were  already made by him to keep the party going.  We all celebrated the birthday of my golden girl in a Chinese restaurant with a very very delicious cake.

Next day, I got some  more time with them. While cooking together,  we talked about recipes, my blog, the fruits they have planted in their garden and everything in between; I even showed them my fortune(uhhh…props and utensils), which they find amazingly beautiful and said such things are very expensive to buy in New Zealand.

Some  very thoughtful gifts for me.

thoughtful gifts

Now whenever I   look at the pictures in the window of my screen, I can’t stop smiling thinking about the incredible time we spend together.my kidsSending your way  lots of love and thanks.strawberries
After days of having meals loaded with rich ingredients I decided to fix myself a healthy bowl of salad in which I throw whatever was available in the freeze but surprisingly came out so delicious that when I was typing this paragraph I felt like having it again.spinach and strawberry salad
Serves 2
Ingredients
• Strawberry, diced – 15
• Baby spinach leaves (I used big ones and tore them with hands) – a handful
• Roasted sesame seeds – 2 tbsp
• Mustard powder – ¼ tsp
• Paprika powder – 1 tsp
• Black pepper – 1 tsp
• Salt to taste
• Honey – 3 tbsp
• Lemon juice – ½ tsp
• Walnuts roasted, chopped – 10
• Cottage cheese, cut into small pieces– 100gm
• Olive oil – 1 tbsp
Method
In a bowl put together spinach leaves, strawberries and cheese.
For seasoning
In another bowl mix together oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, paprika powder, mustard powder and honey.
Finally pour this seasoning over strawberries mixture and toss them well. Sprinkle some walnuts and sesame seeds.

strawberry with spinach salad

5 thoughts on “Spinach and Strawberry Salad…. a family getaway to Agra

  1. Thanks you Vibha Bhabhiji for writing such a beautiful blog and refreshing our nostalgic moments. It is back to routine here in Auckland , NZ but memories like this and pictures from various family cameras have always made us refresh those very choicest moments which got us all together at a very short notice Someone rightly said .. The most important decisions of your life ..including …”I do.” …are made in split second provided you have an open heart and listen to what your heart wants. May God Bless you for your wonderful hospitality and generosity on our recent visit to New Delhi which we will always remember for the rest of our lives .please plan a trip with your family to NZ and give us a chance to reciprocate at least once..Thanks and regards. Virendra and Family

Leave a Reply

