Whole Wheat honey Crepe with Macerated Strawberries….some peaceful time

whole wheat crepe
Yesterday, I woke up to the first bell of the alarm, which I set 2 hours earlier.   Half asleep-half awake, I walked into the kitchen to cook something for him, in between convincing myself that I have a whole day in front of me to sleep, later.

After my husband left home,  I skipped the idea of sleeping instead decided to bake something complex, which needed a peaceful environment like this to work on. I quietly shut the door of my son room to avoid any disturbance to him. I checked some bookmarked recipes and set on to knead and bake(I will share this amazing recipe sometime soon).whole wheat crepe
Till the time I finished with my baking and other errands of the day, it was already 12;  time to sit down in my balcony to watch the proceeding in my street.

After finishing the chapter assigned to him, he too was running here and there (might be seeking some company to play with).  I asked him to come and sit with me, but it looks, he was in no mood to listen to my childhood stories any more; he  preferred calling his friend home instead. some view
Soon, he got busy playing with his best friend; seeing him brimming with joy in the company of his friend, I bring out my camera to fill my time up and started clicking whatever catches my fancy.IMG_4057There was some ease, some comfort and some soul in such  peaceful moments, which was so overwhelming that you feel like holding  the time there and then. peahen
I watched a peahen sitting on the rooftop of  a  house, who suddenly rose in the sky after hearing some loud noises of ‘huh huh’ from her fellow group of peacocks and peahens. The noise was so loud that even they came outside to check.whole wheat honey crepe
They pulled the chair beside me and started conversing about some school activities.  Their stories made my eyelids heavy,  I realized, it was the time to  fix myself a cup of filter coffee, my new obsession.

To make kids happy, I  I decided to make some crepes for them, which I recently saw in some magazine. After clicking two-three photographs of the crepes, I served the same to them.  While my son relished  but his friend rejected it saying that he just had his breakfast.

All disappointed, I came inside to complete the dream which I left midway in the morning.

Recipe courtesy: Chef Vikas Khanna

Serves 4
Ingredients
For macerated strawberries
• 10 strawberries, hulled (halved or quartered if large)
• 1 tablespoons sugar
For batter
• Whole wheat flour – ¾ cup
• Egg – 1
• Melted butter – 1 tbsp
• Honey – 1 tbsp plus extra for drizzling
• Milk – 1 1/4 cup
• Baking powder- ¼ tsp
• Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
• Roasted almonds – 2 tbsp, chopped
Method
For macerated strawberries
Stir together strawberries and sugar in a medium bowl. Let stand at room temperature until juices are released, at least 30 minutes
For batter
Sift the flour and baking powder together. Add the milk, vanilla essence, butter, egg and honey to the flour mixture. Whisk well till it forms a smooth batter. If there are lumps, strain the batter through a sieve. Heat a non-stick pan over a medium flame. Pour a ladleful of batter and swirl it around quickly so that it covers the entire surface of the pan.
Let the crepe cook for a minute. Flip it to the other side and cook for 30 seconds.
Assembling
Remove the crepe from the pan and put it on a plate. Repeat the procedure with the remaining batter. Fold the crepes into triangles and drizzle some honey over it. Put a spoonful of macerated strawberries over and sprinkle some almonds or other nuts of your choice. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

