Pink Swirl Meringue…..how my macaron became meringue

pink swirl meringueIf you happen to visit our house during this time of the year, you will notice an altogether difference environment.

Suddenly busier than ever mom will be found more in the kitchen to satisfy the ever increased appetite of her child, sounds of whistles and burbles will be heard instead of the sounds of Shinchan, Pokemon and Doraemon and on the dining table instructional rounds of science, history, civics  will be going on instead of life, monoply, or uno

The reason for this entire change is one, that his  final exams are near. pink swirl meringue
Other than telling him time and again to study, my contribution towards his studies is not much.   And, I consider myself  lucky that unlike my mother (who worked so hard on  me) I don’t have to put so much efforts.

But at times,  I do worry a bit, and question myself whether my  decision of letting him study on his own  was right?

May be not!!!meringue

In between fulfilling his demands and expectations and managing my other chores of the day, I do steal some time and do whatever pleases me the most.

Last week, I  plucked some perfectly ripe  kumquats from my small plant and preserved them  in a jar   (recipe can be found  here).

   kumquat marmalade

Found a  new entrant on the neighborhood’s roof.  Wish I could tell you  the name of this bird, but unfortunately, I am the most ignorant person in the world.  A new bird

Macaron is one of the very  few things which my son love and often asked me to bake. It is said that macarons are very temperamental, if not made with patience and love. But, in spite of putting so much love and care in my last two attempts, they came out as a disaster.   And, after that I  left the hope.Failed macron

But this time, when he insisted, I kept two egg whites in the freeze to age and after two days when I took them out, the cloud of uncertainty again hovers over me.  So, I removed safely myself from baking something  whose result is a mystery and used those egg whites in this meringue.

Which would serve as a perfect gift for my love (my blog) and to romanticize things further,  I  gave it a pink swirl.

Recipe adapted from Bakerella with a little bit of changes.
Ingredients
• Caster sugar – 110 gms
• Egg whites – 55 gms (from two eggs)
• food coloring (optional)
Method
Preheat the oven at 100 degree C. In a clean bowl pour egg whites and start whisking until stiff peaks form and you can turn the bowl upside down without the egg whites falling out. Now add one big spoonful of sugar at a time, ensuring that the whites come back to stiff peaks after each addition. Once all the sugar is added, continue to whisk for 5 – 7 minutes. You should be able to rub the mixture between your fingers and not feel any grit from the sugar. You know it’s ready to use when it forms a smooth shiny peak on the tip of your finger. Add a drop of color into the mixture and slightly swirl it with a knife. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Place a dab of meringue on four corners of pan and press paper on top to hold it down flat. Fill this mixture in a piping bag then snip off the tip of the piping bag about an inch in diameter and pipe meringue on baking sheet. Slightly press any decorative material (if, you are adding). Bake for about 30 to 40 minutes or until the kisses can easily be lifted off the parchment paper with bases intact. Let cool completely.

Leave a Reply

