Eggless Brownies with Amaranth Flour

eggless brownies with amaranth flour

For some days,  it was getting extremely difficult to sleep under our heavy quilt,  with all the windows  closed.

Likewise yesterday, after struggling for hours, I got up to open the windows and to replace  quilts with   blankets.  It was only then, with the cool pleasant air streaming in, our sleep deprived eyes became heavy and before we could analyze things further  we were slept.

With the rising temperature everyday, I think summer has marked it’s beginning.  There are many people who don’t like summer at all and I am the one who stands first in the list. eggless brownie with amaranth flour
Next morning, I woke up all excited to see what this new day has brought in. I started by making a cup of tea for me. The weather looked pleasant outside, so I pulled a chair outside.   I observed some ladies walking in the park in groups, laughing all the way, might be sharing some funny stories, or gossiping or may be discussing menu for today.  Seeing this, I too felt a sudden urge to put on my jogging shoes and run to gossip. But before I could remove the dust gathered on my shoes, my husband woke up, then my son and then my mother-in-law.

Different choices of breakfast, different schedules, cutting and peeling of vegetables, packing of lunch, laundry etc., etc. occupied me till 1,

new sprouted leaves
At 4.30 pm , I got down to take a brisk walk in the park while my son naps. As I walked around, I noticed the teeny-weeny leaves on the bare branches of mulberry tree which I found very pretty, so to capture them was ‘a must’.  eggless brownie with amaranth flour
Last weekend, I became a proud owner of a new tab.  My, very considerate husband gifted me this to provide me bigger screen for better  readability.  I am loving my this gift. There was one more gift, which you would surely want to see. gift

This past weekend, my sister came home with her son. Her presence is always a pleasure and an extreme luxury to anybody to whom she is a guest.

I made this decadent brownies for his son, who always found my brownies best in the world. Even I found them very fudgy and tasty.

As I have experienced earlier also, amaranth flour never altered the taste at all, in fact, it only make things more healthier.
Recipe adapted from Lemon ‘n’ Ginger
Ingredients
• Flaxseed powder – 1 tbsp
• Water- 2 tbsp
• Amaranth flour – ¼ cup
• Whole wheat flour – ½ cup + ½(1/4 cup)
• Baking soda – 1/8
• Cocoa powder – 3 ½ tbsp
• dark chocolate, chopped (or chocolate chips) – 50 gms
• Instant coffee powder – ½ tsp
• Salt a pinch
• Boiling water – 1 cup
• Brown sugar, powdered – ½ cup + ½ (1/4 cup)
• Walnuts – ¼ cup
• Butter – 40 gms
• Choco chips, extra for sprinkling
Method
In a small bowl mix water ( 1 ½ tbsp) with flax seed powder and let it stand for about 5 minutes or until it becomes a thick slurry. Preheat oven to 180 degree C and line 5 inches square baking tin with baking paper. In a bowl sieve flours, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. Microwave chopped chocolate and butter for 1 minute or until the chocolate pieces melts add sugar, flax seed mixture and coffee powder. Mix but avoid over mixing. Now gently fold the dry ingredients into the wet, add hot water and walnuts into the mixture. Transfer the batter into the baking dish, sprinkle remaining walnuts and choco chips on top. Bake for 30 minutes. Cool on a wire rack. Once cooled down completely cut them into squares and serve.

Leave a Reply

