Applesauce Granola with Cranberry…..adding another story

treee

He reminded me that I promised him to take him to his mamu’s house on Holi.

We had 4 days break in between in his papers, so I decided to pack my bags to be there.my kidsmy kids

While he had his best time playing holi with his cousins and mamu, I too enjoyed my sweet time over there. 

Under the filtered shadow from their now ‘leafless tree’ we all chatted non stop. The calling of  birds  can be heard all time of the day and that made  my days there even more special.

Over countless number of teas and coffees I enjoyed the calmness and serenity of nature’s blessings. Now when I was typing this,  I wondered how in my young age I never admired such soul-satisfying  beauty.spring time
I even experienced lots of rain, a bit of sunshine and a most beautiful  look of my sister-in-law’s small garden, which might not able to provide her regular supply of tomato, carrot, radish, potato, mint etc. but that definitely makes her and everybody’s eyes content with happiness and colors.

Her garden always displays a happy face no matter which the season  is. I spent major part of my time just looking at them, it was as beautiful. brown headed barbet
On my last day of stay I even spotted a beautiful  brown headed barbet,  which knocks  the window   whenever she saw her mirror image on the glass. Amazing!!! I even found a tree hole where that pair resides. barbet's nest

I got so immersed in watching something  so special or better say something new in my old life that I completely forgot to feed my blog.applesauce granolaapplesauce  granola
So,  when I finally came home I decided to bake something for my blog and for my increased belly(after gorging stuffed paranthas and many many more rich delicacies by my parents). applesauce
Ingredients
• oats – 4 cup
• almonds – ½ cup
• brown sugar – ¼ cup
• Applesauce *recipe follows
• honey – ½ cup
• cinnamon powder – ½ tsp
• 1/4 cup black raisins
• 1/4 cup dried cranberries

For applesauce
• Small red apple, peeled and grated – 3
• Lemon juice – 1 tsp
• Brown sugar – 1 tbsp
• Water – 1 tbsp

Method
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Line a baking tray with baking paper. In a large bowl, combine oats, diced almonds, cranberry and raisins. In a pan mix brown sugar, honey and cinnamon powder. Heat them on a slow flame until sugar dissolves. Switch off the gas add applesauce. Pour over oat mixture. Combine well. Spread in the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes. Keep stirring in between. When it cools down, store in an airtight container.
For applesauce
In a pan add the grated apple with lemon juice, water and brown sugar. Cook it on slow flame for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

