Chocolate Macaron with Chocolate filling

chocolate macaronIt was like any other morning but I felt unusually tired. I assumed that it must be side effects of self prescribed medicine, I was taking for long. “I’ll go on Monday”, my rest coveted mind and body assured themselves. 

I lay down on my sofa putting down two cushions beneath my head.  As I  gazed at  the tree glittered by the soft morning sun shine  from the slightly ajar door of my drawing room, I felt nothing.   My eyelids were heavy seeking some sleep.  chocolate macaron with ganache

In between, my son kept  coming in and going out from the room  making me hard to sleep.   When I heard him saying to his father that he wants a pizza for lunch,  I felt relaxed.   Now, I can lay there further,  but when I heard some loud noises down the street, I got up to check and found that a driver of a tractor was finding a way out in our narrow street.   The noises were made by the fellow passenger, who was guiding him to move in an appropriate direction without harming the cars lined in both sides of the road.IMG_5661
As I came inside I realized I have put some egg whites in the freeze to age.   It’s now more than 4 days and if, I will further delay then they would have to go in the sink.

Thinking about baking was enough to feel me happy and rejuvenated again.  And the excitement got doubled up,  when I saw the feet forming up during baking.

They came out super-duper delicious. We all gobbled them down one by one.

But I was most happy when my son announced,”Mom, they tasted same, even better than he had at Chokola.” macaron
Recipe adapted by David Lebovitz
Ingredients
For Macaron
• powdered sugar – 1 cup
• powdered almonds – ½ cup( or dry roasted almonds powdered in a spice grinder)
• unsweetened cocoa powder – 3 tbsp
• aged* large egg whites, at room temperature – 2  *(to make eggs white aged keep the eggs white in the fridge for two days covered with plastic)
• granulated sugar – 5 tbsp
for Chocolate Filling
• single cream – ½ cup
• Dark chocolate – 120 gm
Method
Preheat oven to 180º C. Line two baking sheets with baking paper and make a pastry bag ready with a plain tip (about 1/2-inch, 2 cm).  Grind together the powdered sugar with the almond powder and cocoa and then sift the powder so that there are no lumps
Beat the egg whites until they begin to rise and hold their shape. While whipping, beat in the granulated sugar until very stiff and firm, about 2 minutes. Carefully fold the dry ingredients, in two batches, into the beaten egg whites with a spatula. When the mixture is just smooth and there are no streaks of egg white, stop folding and scrape the batter into the pastry bag.  Pipe the batter on the baking sheets in 1-inch (3 cm) circles (about 1 tablespoon each of batter), evenly spaced one-inch (3 cm) apart. Rap the baking sheet a few times firmly on the counter top to flatten the macarons.  Let it sit for 15 minutes to let the skin form, very very important step to get the feet on macaron then bake them for 15-18 minutes. Let cool completely then remove from baking sheet.
For chocolate filling
Heat the cream in a small saucepan. When the cream just begins to boil at the edges, remove from heat and add the chopped chocolate. Let sit one minute, then stir until smooth. Let cool completely before using.
Assembly
Spread a bit of batter on the inside of the macarons then sandwich them together. (You can pipe the filling it, but I prefer to spread it by hand; it’s more fun, I think.)

 

Leave a Reply

