truffle cake…. 2nd happy anniversary

2nd happy anniversaryWhere to start? After a gap of more than usual days, I always asked this question from me. “One story at a time” that’s how, I convince myself.

As I was putting together this cake, I wondered how my life now, is the same as, and different than, as it was during the first year of my blogging. truffle cake
Nothing much has changed, just like then, I still feel most happy while baking. Acquiring a new prop and other tools still gives me the same satisfaction and happiness. I still look at my glamorous neighbor from the corner of my eye without hurting my ego. When I hear some chatting or singing of bird, I still smile. I still tie my son’s shoe laces and still sing a lullaby and cut him another than another than another mango.

my son
But certainly now, I no longer check my account thousand times a day to see the progress of my stats, any comments or some likes. In order to click some photo, I don’t lag behind my son and my husband; I have altogether stopped watching any food shows. Now, I don’t approach anybody to give a follow (believe me, I have done that).Spongestruffle cake
I remember, how desperate I was then, but now, I am far more relaxed and happy and do things at my own pace without expecting anything in return. truffle cake
I have lots to share but, for now, I am keeping this post short.  You will surely see something exciting in my next post.

In the end, I just want to say that I am absolutely humbled and extremely thankful to each one of you for coming so far with me and appreciating this kind of nonsense from me.happy anniversarySponge Recipe adapted from Cake Merchant
For cake
Ingredients
• Whole wheat flour – 2 ¼ cup
• Granulated sugar – 2 cups
• Unsweetened cocoa powder – ½ cup + 3 tbsp
• Baking powder – ¾ tsp
• Baking soda – ¾ tsp
• Salt – ¾ tsp
• Buttermilk – ¾ cup
• Oil – 1 cup
• Large eggs – 2 or small 3
• Large egg yolks – 2 or small 3
• Vanilla essence – 1 ½ tsp
• Boiling water – ¾ cup

For ganache
• Dark chocolate – 250 gms
• Single cream – 1cup
• Milk (if consistency is too thick to pour) – 2 tbsp

For chocolate cream
• Whipped cream – 2 cup
• Melted chocolate – ¼ cup

Method
For Cake
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C and grease and line 3 7-inch cake pans with baking paper. In a large bowl sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together the buttermilk, oil, eggs, egg yolks, and vanilla extract until blended. Add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture in 2 additions and beat with hand blender on low speed until blended. Turn the mixer up to medium high and beat until smooth. With the mixer on low speed, slowly pour in ¾ cup boiling water and beat until blended. Divide the batter equally between the cake pans and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 25-28 minutes. Cool the cakes in the pans on wire racks for 15 minutes. Turn the cakes out onto wire racks to cool completely.

For chocolate cream

Melt chocolate in a microwave for 1 minute or until melted. Let it come on room temperature then fold ¼ cups of cream into it. Now gently fold the remaining too.

For ganache

Place the chocolate into a medium bowl. Heat the cream in a small sauce pan over medium heat. Bring just to a boil, when the cream has come to a boil, pour over the chopped chocolate, and whisk until smooth.
Allow the ganache to cool slightly (at this stage if, consistency of the ganache appears too thick add a little milk before pouring over a cake.

To Assemble

Place one layer of the cake on a7 or 8-inch cake board. With an offset spatula, spread about 2 to 3 tablespoons of cream on top of the first layer. Repeat this process with the second layer, spreading the remainder of the filling on top. Place the 3rd layer on top. Place the cake on a turntable, and apply a thin layer of the chocolate cream on the sides and the top of the cake. Apply the remainder of the frosting to the sides and top of the cake. Refrigerate the cake while preparing the glaze.
Finally pour the slightly warm ganache at the center of the cake and work outward.

Leave a Reply

