Creme Brulee #eggless #nobake #noblowtorch

new leaves

After kids boarded their school bus, we all turned around, while some rushed back to their respective work, but me, being the luckiest one put down relaxed foot forward, soaking everything beautiful coming my way.

Watching  a tree dropping down some precious and golden leaves and crowning itself with new and vibrant leaves; some loud noise, some slow whispers.  I felt instantly grateful to the nature for such sights.
But before I observe more, my house on the right brought me on the base and as I walked up the stairs, my mind started thinking about meals and other errands of the day. I wanted to finish all these as early as possible, so that I can type out what I promised last.CREME BRULEE
This year has been very lucky to me, as the year has just started and I already made two visits home.

I remember, how  20 long years back when we moved from our rental house to our own in Ghaziabad, things were not same.  I was most  unhappy then.

For me, our that small two room house was my mansion, sliding down on the railing from our third floor house every time we have to get down; playing with a large group of friend on the roof, running around in those lively lanes, the vividness, the sparkle.  It was hard to leave all those memories behind.

In comparison, our new house was completely opposite, calm, quiet and over that an erratic power supply.BROWN HEADED BARBET

But slowly our heart started filling in, and we started building new stories . The same quietness started giving us the much required healing and respite from everyday kerfuffle.Nature

Now when that place has became our pride and joy,  I  will probably one day,   tell my grand children about the added memories like the  matches that is being played everyday in our porch taking in all the locality kids;  about our old Semal tree, a habitat of many birds; a most beautiful garden displaying all the possible colors on planet .
My today’s recipe is Creme Brulee, which is traditionally , baked and have eggs and most importantly blow torch is being used to caramelize sugar but this recipe has none of the above.

I might have tried this before but with no blow torch in hand, I can not think of this recipe but when I saw this on Sanjeev Kapoor’s show I have learnt that  top grill can be used to get the same effect.   I tried, but after a few seconds the custard started to bubble from below, so  I remove  the sugar from the top and decided to pour the  caramel instead.

I haven’t tasted  Creme Brulee before, so I can’t compare. But trust me, I am most happy to have this in my blog.

Check out my first ever video, recorded on the roof of that same house.

Recipe adapted from Sanjeev Kapoor with a few changes.
Serves 4
Ingredients
• Milk – 1 ½ cups
• Fresh cream – ½ cup
• Corn flour – 2 tablespoons
• Sugar – 3 tablespoons
• Brown sugar – 1/4 cup
• Water – 2 tablespoon
• Lemon juice – a few drops,  Saffron few strands (optional)
Method
Heat 1 cup milk in a pan, add cream, mix well and heat for 2 minutes. Put corn flour in a bowl, add remaining milk and mix well. Add this to the milk-cream mixture, mix and cook till the mixture thickens. Add sugar, mix well and cook till the sugar dissolves completely. Strain the mixture so that there are no lumps.  Add saffron. Pour the mixture into 4 individual ramekin moulds and refrigerate till set.
To make caramelize sugar, take a non stick pan, combine brown sugar, water, and drop of lemon juice over low heat. Stirring constantly with a silicone spatula, until sugar dissolves and mixture just begins to simmer. After sugar dissolves and syrup is simmering, cook for approximately 1 to 2 minutes, without stirring. Hold handle of pan and gently tilt the pan off the heat to distribute color evenly as sugar caramelizes.

Note. Instead of making caramel on the stove top, you can caramelize the sugar with a brulee torch (if you have one). For that add 1 tbsp brown sugar on each moulds and spread and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

