Baked Muesli…. a few thoughts

BAKED MUESLImy son

Today morning when I woke up I saw him enjoying his book in concentrated silence. Seeing this, I too pulled a chair beside him and sat down keeping all my morning essentials like tea, newspaper, tab and a grey diary (given by my father, he does that every year) and my camera besides me. morning essential

As, I prepared to scribble something onto my diary rested in my lap, I noticed the Purple Sunbird on a mended needle like leaf; flashing her glittering blue color from far. Every day she teases me by showing a glimpse of her  by either sitting on my neighbors’ tree or in my own balcony, but flies off whenever I tries to capture her in my camera. Even my son found her very pretty. My this picture is not depicting her real beauty.

purple sunbirdbaked Muesli
After writing down a few lines, I went inside to inspect my freeze, to see what can be cook for today, I took out a few vegetables and a bowl of cherries; some squelched figs too caught my eyes which were hidden somewhere in the back. I immediately planned a Galette with them (will share next)figs
I put some idlies to steam for breakfast and as I start preparing Sambhar by cutting the vegetables, a thought starts troubling me again. I often fear of falling short of my medicines required for my chronic bronchial problem.  Will I survive without my puff?  Will I die gasping for breath? I question myself. But before more such negative thought floats in my mind. I played my favorite Samjhawan song on my phone.
Do you know like this fear, some happy ideas also palpates in my mind like recording the same song in my voice with my son playing the keyboard in the background. BAKED MUESLI
Recipe adapted from Femina Magazine, January 22, 2014 issue.
Ingredients
• Cashewnuts – ½ cup
• Black raisins – ½ cup
• Chopped dates- ½ cup
• Chopped dried figs – ½ cup
• Dessicated coconut – ¼ cup
• Flattentened rice (poha) – 1 cup
• Popped rice – 1 cup
• Oats – 2 cups
• Black sesame seeds – 1 tbsp
• White sesame seeds – 1 tbsp
• Poppy seeds – 1 tsp
• Almonds – ½ cup
• Flaxseeds – 2 tbsp
• Melon seeds – 2 tbsp
Method
Preheat the oven at 120 degree C. In a bowl mix all the above ingredients and spread them in a large baking tray for about 25 to 30 minutes. Remember to stir occasionally. Once cooled, sxtore in an air tight container.
Stove method
In a wide pan, dry roast all the ingredients on low heat for about 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

