Savory Tart….Monday

IMG_5031 Today morning, I woke up to find a colony of ants  inside and out of the bread I left on the kitchen counter yesterday. Hardheartedly, I threw the whole bread secretly in a bin. But the agony doesn’t end here, as when I put milk to boil, it  got curdled. In such blazing hot and humid days when even routine works seemed a burden that adds a few extra work on my sweating shoulder.

As I threw in a few teaspoon of vinegar into the milk, I thought of the wonderful time we spent in Bhimtal.  Though that was a trip planned by my father at the last moment but still, I will call it the most organized and most memorable one, the pleasures of listening to my father’s experience, watching the kids play, eating and laughing together. I can sum up that trip in just one word “Amazing”. IMG_4232 - Copy
Still thinking about that time, I felt the rolling of more sweat all over my face.  Wiping that with my kurta’s sleeve,  I quickly drained the whey from the cheese and poured some buttermilk in a glass  and skip into my bedroom where a.c. was on. There, I sat down on my rocking chair to finish the last chapter of the only book I managed to complete off in these holidays. It’s not that I don’t have time but I enjoy electronic reading more.

More thoughts, more pictures soon but for now good night.Savory Tart with Olive Oil

Ingredients
• Whole wheat flour – 2 cups
• Baking powder – ¼ tsp
• Salt to taste
• Pepper to taste
• Oregano or dry leaves according to taste
• Olive oil or cold butter – ¼ cup
• Cold water if required
Method
Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl. Rub malai or cold butter until it resembles sand like mixture. Add a few spoonfuls of cold water to bring the mixture together. Remember don’t overwork on this mixture. Wrap this in cling film and put in the freeze for 1 to 2 hours.
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Roll the dough into a thin roti of about ¼ inch in between two cut outs of baking paper to avoid incorporating excessive flour into the dough. Cut out 2-1/2″ circles from the dough. Place each circle in oiled tart tins and push in to fit pan and remove the scrap. Prick excessively with a folk. Bake them for about 10 to 15 minutes or until they turned golden brown. Remove from pan and cool completely. Spoon any filling of your choice. I filled them some leftover fried rice and then top them with some chopped onion and tomato.

Leave a Reply

