Ciabatta

ciabattaCiabatta is an Italian white bread and is made in a flat and broad shape but I made this in a tin. This bread requires more than usual yeast for its formation  as that only will give this bread the required texture and big holes. The consistency of the batter is too runny somewhat like a batter. And if, like me you too are using your hand muscles to knead the dough than I must warn you, that it’s not going to be an easy affair with this too runny batter. The stickiness and the loose batter is the key of success of this bread.  Unlike my earlier attempts of making any bread,  I used all purpose flour in this bread instead of any other healthier flour. IMG_7631
The texture came out was very soft from inside and outside was crisp though it’s big holes were somewhat missing . I would love to try making this bread  again one day with sourdough starter. ciabatta

Well that’s not the only highlight of the week as now when kids holidays are over and life is reverted back to a schedule where I got plenty of time to look at other interests in life. I am planning to start my morning walk again and seriously considering about holding some baked goodies stall in November or December. Hopefully Inder will support me with this.IMG_2669
Baking has opened up the world for me; it has changed and shaped my life. Though at times I feel like wrapping up my blogging at least for a few weeks but somehow, I come back again as that’s the only creative thing I know.

I can’t wait to see what next adventure lay ahead in front for me. Any ideas and suggestions regarding holding a stall are truly welcome.
Recipe adapted from My Jhola
I halved the recipe for this one loaf.

Ingredients
• All purpose flour – 5 cups
• lukewarm (not hot) water – 2 cups
• dried yeast – 3 tsp
• salt – 1 tsp
• sugar – 1 tbsp
• oats -1 tbsp (for sprinkling, optional)
Method
In 1 cup of lukewarm water, add sugar and yeast and leave in a warm spot until the yeast froths. Sift the flour and salt in a large mixing bowl. Add the frothy mixture and the remaining cup of lukewarm water to the flour and mix with a wooden spatula or spoon until well combined. At this stage, the dough will look more like a batter now knead the batter for 10 minutes. Cover the bowl with cling film and leave to rest in a warm spot for about 4 hours. Grease and dust 2 baking tins with flour. Beat the dough once again for a minute or two and tip into the greased tins. Leave to rest in a warm spot for about 30 minutes. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 200 degrees C for about 20 to 30 minutes.Cool completely before slicing.ciabatta

Leave a Reply

