No bake – Mango Cheesecake with Cottage Cheese….

PEACOCKBOUGAINVILLEA

On Saturday morning, I woke up exactly at the same time as I have been in the past working days. I came out in my balcony hoping some cheer to drizzle from the sky but no, there was no such sign. I took my tea and came inside ignoring my neighbor’s bougainvillea blossom and the peacock, which as if, came and sat on the neighbor’s rail just for me. I switched on the fan and sat down to note down the ingredients of chocolate cake and donut  that my son has asked me to bake for his friend, who was coming over to play in a few hours. It’s not every day that he asked me for such favor so I read the instructions twice to avoid any disappointment.

CHOCOLATE CRACKLECHOCOLATE CAKE
When he came, they both sit down to play Keyboard, it’s when  I served them this cake. When I was leaving the room I heard his friend saying to him that it was the best cake he ever had and to this Virat added that my mom even knows how to bake Choco Lava, I will ask her to bake that for you next time. Hearing this I felt proud and left them alone to play.
My Sunday too went like that by baking lots of desserts and by watching my favorite Indian Idol again and again. We even went out to shop but returned back just by having an ice cream and Mc Puff. It was so hot and humid and pollution made our experience even worse. Later, my son expressed his desire to have Doraemon’s Time Machine, with that he wants to  take us back to the time when our earth was a safe place to live and nothing obstructive was invented; when our earth was greener  and when the only means of livelihood was farming. I listened to his wish and breathed a sigh. mango cheeseccakeIMG_5581
I made this dessert last year but somehow never got the chance to see the bright light of my blog and today when Dussehri Mango is in season, I think, it is the right time to share this recipe. Originally, all mango desserts recipes calls for  Alphonso Mangoes.  But, I always go for a variety which is easily accessible and in season and believe me it doesn’t make any difference.

If like me, you are making this dessert in shot glasses you can completely skip the gelatin out of the recipe. mango cheesecake
Recipe adapted from Divine Taste
Ingredients
For Crust
• digestive biscuits, crushed – 1 ½ cup
• salted butter, chopped – 100gm
For Filling
• powdered sugar – 1 cup
• thick full cream yogurt (drained overnight in a cheesecloth) – 1 1/2 cups
• Panir cheese or cottage cheese – 400gms or 2 cups
• water – 1 ½ cup
• gelatin –  4 tsp
• mango puree – 1 cup
• vanilla essence – 1 tsp
For the Mango Glaze
• Mango puree – ½ cup
• water – 2 tbsp
• sugar – 2 tbsp
• lime juice – 1 tbsp
Method
For the crust

Process the biscuits in a food processor until fine, drop in the butter and process again until the mixture is properly blended. Remove the mixture and press it evenly into the base of an 8” deep round springform pan or distribute equally in 10 small glasses. Chill in the freezer for 15 minutes or in the refrigerator for half an hour.
For the filling
Blend strained yogurt, cottage cheese, vanilla and the sugar until smooth and creamy.In a sauce pan, heat the mango puree over a medium flame. Do not allow this to boil. Place the hot water in a bowl. Sprinkle with gelatin and whisk with a fork until gelatine dissolves. After the gelatin melts completely, add this solution into the hot mango puree, stirring all the while. Slowly add the mango mixture into the yogurt and cheese mixture and beat well with a wire whisk until well blended. Pour this mixture over the prepared crust, level with a spoon and allow the cheesecake to set overnight before spreading the glaze over it.
For the Mango Glaze
Place all the ingredients for the glaze in a saucepan and cook over medium heat. When it begins to boil, reduce the flame and cook for 3 to 4 minutes more. Allow to come to room temperature and then spread the glaze over the cheesecake with a spoon. Allow the glaze to set over the cheesecake for 2 to 3 hours or overnight.

2 thoughts on “No bake – Mango Cheesecake with Cottage Cheese….

Leave a Reply

