Chocolate Swiss Roll…a weekend out

home

Hello!!!
It’s been more than a week since I last sat down to record my thoughts over here. It’s like, whenever I got some time, I either settled down with a book or went for a walk or sometimes sit down to watch some movie or a serial.
Last Saturday we got a call from a friend, who wants us to come and view their new house. Virat wasn’t too happy with the idea as he had  planned a movie ‘Minions’ with me. But me, the selfish mother readily agreed.  At 40 years of age, I am sure nobody (except my brother) wants to waste their precious weekend by watching an animated film.  With a promise next week, I able to convince him.

On another side, I was very curious to see how that wonderful lady (with whom I have met just once before) has decorated their new house. friend's house
So after driving down 60 kilometers, for about 1 hour or so, when we reached there, their cute little daughter came out to greet us. After circling around Virat (the only person she seemed interested in) for a few minutes, she realized that this tough boy is hard to convince to play with her dolls, so she went back with her chocolate, she brought to offer him. At that time, I really wished if, I had brought some cake or chocolates with me. “On my next visit”, I promised myself. A little later, the petite lady all dressed in a blue floral top and Capri entered the house, leaving the bags of cold drinks and snacks on the door, she hugged me. After a round of tea, she showed us around the house.

I find their house very beautiful, airy and spacious. It has everything that people like us dream of.   I really liked the way  how she has decorated her house with all small or big arrangements. On our second round of  cup of tea, she shared the experience of shifting. She even told me about a burglary that took place recently in their neighborhood.

Later as the light faded, I began to worry about  his school tomorrow.   I ended the conversation by inviting them over to our house  and thanked  them for their generosity and for the wonderful experience.
On the way back home, I noticed the bright orange and blue strokes in the sky.   It was looking  like a dream to me, I even asked him to stop the car and  pause for a few minutes. But it seemed they were in no mood to cease and appreciate. They simply nodded their head in approval. But  I kept storing the spectacular images in my camera.

At home, after traveling 120 kilometers( both directions) in a day I didn’t intend to  cook, so I brought Idli- Dosa from a nearby restaurant to have it in the comfort of home.chocolate swiss rolls
My recipe for today is of Swiss Rolls. They are considered as easiest of dessert to bake and roll but not for me. But after trying this recipe, I too can say the same.

Recipe adapted  from Passionate about Baking.

Ingredients
• Eggs – 3
• Brown Sugar – ½ cup
• Plain flour – ½ cup – 1 tbsp
• Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
• Coffee powder – 1 tbsp
Coffee syrup
• Water – ¼ cup
• Brown Sugar – 1 ½ tsp
Filling
• Whipped cream – ½ cup
Icing sugar for sifting
Method
Preheat the oven to 190 degree C. Oil and line a jelly roll pan with baking paper. In a large bowl whisk the eggs and brown sugar with an electric beater for about 5 to 8 minutes. Add the vanilla essence, and beat for another minute.Sift the flour and coffee powder in another bowl, and gently fold the flour mixture into the egg mixture.Turn batter into prepared tray, smoother out and bake for approx 25 minutes until light golden and firm to touch. During the last 5 minutes cover the tin with a foil loosely or bake with just lower rod on. Lay a kitchen towel flat on the counter and sift over with powdered sugar. Turn the baked cake onto it, and gently peel off the baking paper. Sift over with icing sugar, cover with sheet of baking paper and roll gently into a tight roll, using the kitchen towel. Leave to cool completely.
Coffee syrup
Place all ingredients in a small pan and simmer until the sugar dissolves. Leave to cool completely.
Assemble
Gently unroll the cake, sprinkle coffee syrup all over the cake, and then spread the whipped cream all over it. Roll back gently. Keep in the freeze to cool. Slice as thick as desire.

Leave a Reply

