Eggless Rainbow Ice Cream Cake

Virat took off today, so before he wakes up I worked furiously. In between loading and unloading the washing machine, I whip up the batter for Inder’s birthday cake. I want at least washing and baking done while the house was  quiet. In between, I took care of other regular works of the day.
The last few days were very busy as his exams were going on, and in between we celebrated his twelfth birthday with family and friends.  I baked many cakes, cupcakes and muffins for the day.   Everything was baked keeping in mind  my upcoming Bake Sale, all eggless and full of children’s favorite flavor.    Now, I am really looking forward to try out some more eggless  baked stuff before I finalize the menu for the sale.  ice cream cake

A couple of days ago my niece came up to give us the good news that she got admission in her dream college and will soon leave Delhi to stay there for full five years. I congratulate her but after she left, I started relating the situation with me and my heart clenched just by thought of it.  I know at one stage, quite possibly on the day  when he finishes his school (just like my niece), I have to let him take the flight  and allow him to make his own decisions and choices.   But till then I intend to grow, learn, teach, eat, relax, bake and just be  happy with him.  Every time I came out in the balcony to hung the clothes, my neighbor’s 2 year old daughter emerged out from her room to her balcony to give her nonstop commentary as she always do. I don’t know how she finds out that I am there; I think she likes me a lot. When we were chatting her mother came out chasing her and I talked with her for the first time. I know it sound a little weird but in spite of living next door we never talked before. Now, I think I will take the conversation to next level and will call them home some day. icecream cake
Just for him, I baked his favorite ice cream cake.  And as required, I pasted a few gems to give the rainbow effect. ice cream cake
Recipe adapted from Barbara Bakes. I halved the recipe.
Ingredients
• Whole wheat flour – 3 cups
• Castor sugar – 2 cups
• Unsweetened cocoa powder – ½ cup
• baking soda – 2 teaspoons
• salt – 1 teaspoon
• hot water – 2 cups
• vegetable oil – ¾ cup
• white vinegar – 2 tablespoons
• instant coffee granules – 1 tablespoon
• vanilla essence – 1 tablespoon
Method
Preheat oven to 180 degree C. Grease a 9” inches round cake pan with oil. Whisk together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Combine water, oil, vinegar, instant coffee, and vanilla in a bowl. Add to the dry ingredients and whisk just until combined. Pour the batter into the pan, then bake for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool cakes on a rack for 15 minutes,
for filling
• Vanilla Ice cream – 700 ml
• Cherry pie filling or any tinned fruit of your choice (optional) – ½ cup

Assembling
Let the ice cream comes to a temperature of a whipped cream consistency by putting it outside for some time.

Once the cake is cooled down, run a blunt knife all around the edges so that it release the cake from the sides. As we need to make the layers in the same springform tin so no need to release the cake from the bottom. Slice the cake into two. Lift the top cake and make a thick layer with ice cream then spread some cherry filling all over ice cream. Put another layer then spread some cherry filling and make an another layer of ice cream. Smoothen the layers of ice cream using an offset spatula. Cover the entire cake with aluminum foil and freeze for at least 6 hours before serving. Store in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

