Eggless Lemon Cupcake

IMG_6339

Happy Independence Day India!!!

After a constant buzzing of the alarm set on the phone, I finally gave up my sleep but lay there for more to remember the dream I had last night. The happy thought of holiday pushed me forward to the kitchen to make myself a relaxed cup of tea.

As planned, I coated some thinly sliced apples with cinnamon and some brown sugar for apple galatte and put that in the oven to bake. Later I sat down to have my tea and to type out a few lines.
Yesterday, Inder told me how today one of our niece couldn’t even recognize our God Vishnu. Hearing this, I realized that I too have taught Virat too little about different religions and culture. I mentally made a note of how and from where I will start. Eggless Lemon Cupcake
The other day my son asked why my nickname is so strange and (so odd) I am sure he wanted to add. I told him that every parent has some reason; sometimes it is just out of love other times it has deep significance like it was for Ashoke of The Namesake fame. I told him about Gogol (the main character of the story) and how he used to hates his name and what he went through and finally how he manages to change it.

When I was telling the story to him I observed that he found that unusual story interesting and that confirmed when he asked me to give the book to read. I told him that I don’t have it now as I might have given that and many more books to scrap dealer long time back. Saying this I thought to myself that one day I want him to read that book but not, for now because of some adult contents in it. eggless lemon cupcake Life is strange where you  experience so much; so much of love, silence, passion, courage, sufferings, longing in between.  Some bad as well as good moments erased from your memories like if, they have never happened but the essence of some memories sticks with you for forever.  Recently I met an uncle of mine whose wife has some severe diabetic eye disease and  lost 80 % of her eyesight.  Seeing the love and care of that man, I realized only one thing that the “complicated relation of husband and wife” can be selfless.  His love for her is truly inspiring.  For that man, I just hope and pray that his efforts pays off and her surgery become successful.eggless lemon cupcake

As far as my these cupcakes are concerned they too will remain in my kid’s friends memory, if not for forever, at least for a few months. I was told by them they were extraordinary.

Recipe adapted from Spice up the Curry
Ingredients
For cupcake
• Whole wheat flour – 1 cup + 2 tablespoons
• Baking powder – ½ teaspoon
• Baking soda – ½ teaspoon
• Salt – ¼ teaspoon
• Oil – ⅓ cup
• castor sugar – ¾ cup
• Yogurt – ¼ cup
• Milk – ⅓ cup
• Lemon juice – ¼ cup
• Lemon zest – 1 tablespoon
• vanilla essence – 1 teaspoon
• Ground almonds – ⅓ cup
For frosting
• Whipped cream – 1 cup
• Orange color – a drop (I don’t have yellow color so I used orange)
• Sliced almonds for garnish (optional)
• Chocolate ganache (optional)
Method
For cupcake
Pre-heat the oven at 180 degree C. Line a muffin tray with paper liners or grease it with butter. In a bowl sift all the dry ingredients. In another bowl take oil and sugar and mix it with a spoon then mix yogurt, milk, zest, juice and vanilla essence. Add dry ingredients to wet. Whisk till incorporated. Add ground almonds and mix it in. Divide the batter into 12 muffin cups. Bake into preheated oven for 20-22 minutes or till toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
Remove it from the oven; let it cool into the pan for 5 minutes. Then remove it to cooling rack and let it cool completely.
For frosting
Fill the piping bag with nozzle of your choice and pipe the design you want. Drizzle chocolate ganache over and garnish with sliced almonds.

 

Leave a Reply

