Eggless Sesame Cookies

A CHILDHOOD PICTURE(pic above:  Virat with his father and cousins in 2005)

Holding his many colorful kites under his arms with both hands full with charkharies, he asked me to join him and his father.  Hearing his request, I took a deep sigh and excused myself by saying that I have some work to finish in the kitchen and  will catch them soon.

At that time, I was wondering why a mother or sister’s presence is so quintessential in this sport. Earlier my brother wanted me and my sister to come either to hold the charkhari or  to cheer; or to spectate. And in lieu of, we were given the leash of the kite when  there was no fear of it’s being cut down or when no releasing or pulling of the thread required.   And,  when by the changed mood of air, our kite suddenly turned its direction(upward down), we  pass the same to him, to fix it again for us.

Actually things were pretty different then, as that time I used to enjoy all that  with him and his friends but now, after fixing my household work, I love  settling in my room with either a book, remote or a pen in my hand. Signs of aging, I am sure!!!
When he ran off,  I stepped out in the balcony, it was breeze less and very few kites were flying. As expected, all ladies in my neighborhood  were on the rooftops to cheer on their husband’s  every shout of Kai po che.  After remaining there for few more minutes when I felt ready to  go upstairs, the canopy of grey clouds draped the sky. I watched as some started reeling it in while others remained there to fight off the rain. (Here, I want to add that it is not safe to fly kite when it is raining or lightening as the wet kite or thread attracts electricity)but both of them came down, all wet. I looked at Virat’s face fearing that he might be upset by the rain but he was happy and satisfied as he managed to fly two kites. While they went into the room to change, I cut an apple for Virat and, for us I put some water on the stove for tea.

For the rest of the day, the sun didn’t show off so we sealed ourselves in our room and watched  endless movies in a row.. eggless sesame cookiesEggless Sesame cookies
Later in the day, I observed that many people compensate the loss of  flying kite by bursting crackers while others lit sky lantern at night. eggless sesame cookies
Today, I am sharing a very interesting and healthy recipe which I made long time ago.  A very very delicious cookies which you much try.

Ingredients
• Salted Butter, at room temperature – 100 gms
• Powdered Brown Sugar – 1/3 cup
• Whole wheat flour- ¾ cup
• Rice flour – ½ cup
• Sesame seeds – 1 ¼ cup
• Milk – ½ cup
• Baking powder – ½ tsp
Method
Beat the butter and sugar together in a bowl until creamy and smooth. Stir in the whole wheat flour, rice flour, 1 cup of sesame seeds, milk and baking powder. Make the dough and shape into a log. Wrap this in plastic wrap, and refrigerate at least 2 hours, or place in freezer for about 1 hour.
Preheat the oven at 180 degrees C. Cut the logs of dough into thin slices. In a bowl take the remaining sesame seeds and press the slices into the bowl to stick the sesame seeds all over. Place the slices on the prepared baking sheets, and bake in the preheated oven until the cookies are set and the edges turn golden brown, 10 to 12 minutes. Cool for 1 minute on baking sheets before removing to wire racks to finish cooling.

Leave a Reply

