Instant and low fat Risotto..a thursday

neighbor's windowPic above: my neighbor’s window – reflecting the beautiful light of the day.
On such beautiful day, after dropping Virat to his class I had an hour to kill. Instead of spending that hour in my room, I grabbed a shopping bag and went to my neighborhood vegetable market. Though, I know that by adding any such extra work would leave me tired for the rest of the day but at times you have to listen to what your heart’s desire.vegetable marketeSuch markets are a great place to pick your weekly groceries, at a relatively lower price where you have larger varieties to choose from. And you never know, what surprise of the season would throw your way. vegetable marrket

When I reached there, only a few stall were set up, those who were settled were having the relaxed tea in a glass tumbler, while some were still bringing in the load, few were unloading the stuff from the tempos or from rickshaws. I picked the best out of the unselected spread. For some, I am their first and lucky customer so they touched their first earning of the day on their forehead and murmur something. (May be, a silent prayer).
Afterwards, I continue down the market, streets with rows of vegetables stalls, with very few buyers. sunsetActually this kind of market is a real pleasure to shop after sunset when the lanes are all packed up with crowd and the evening traffic; or when the stalls are lit up with kerosene lamps in a row, it gives you a festival like atmosphere. If you a foodie unlike me, than you can check out some foods stalls offering samosa, golgappas and chole bhature. Apart from the vegetables and food stalls it has clothes, shoes, toys and electrical appliances(with no guarantee) too. This time there were a few rakhi stalls too. rakhi stall
Virat wanted a few pens so I stopped at a stationary shop to buy a magazine and some pens. Eventually my bags became heavy and I realized I couldn’t walk any more. I took an e-rick. When I was returning home I noticed a bakery…on the hand cart, selling the brown topped nankhathai baked on coal on the cart itself. By the time I could raise my voice to stop him; my e-rick driver took me off from any such tempting sights. mushroom Risotto
My today’s recipe is not of a dessert but of a one pot meal. This risotto is so easy to make and gives you the same buttery flavor and not required Arborio rice.  You can make this with your regular rice too but with idly rice they tastes much better. In my home it is most requested recipe. Mushroom Risotto
Serves one portion
Ingredients
• Idly rice – ½ cup
• Mushrooms – 1 packet, diced
• Garlic – 5 to 6 or more garlic pods
• Red chillies or green chillies – 2, chopped
• Beans, chopped – 8 to 10
• Salt and pepper to taste
• Olive oil – 1 tbsp
• Soy sauce – 1 tsp
• Vinegar – 1 tbsp
Method
Cook the rice the way you cook your regular rice. In a pan pour the oil, add the garlic and mushrooms and beans and cook on high heat for a minute. Add the rice and then add vinegar, soy sauce, salt, and pepper and cook until all well blended. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

