Plum Fragipine Tart

(cute little Radha, in my neighborhood)  Happy Janmashtmi and Happy Teachers’ day to all.

But before I share the preparations and other stories related to the above mentioned festivals, a thread of Rakhi celebrations was missing in my blog.  So here it is….

This time around  Rakhi it was decided that we will celebrate Rakhi at my mom’s place. So, I quickly  put some clothes and a box of handmade cookies and cakes (baked on the same day) in my bag and left home during the late afternoon to catch the metro. 
When we got into the metro, it was crowded so we placed our bags  in a corner and stand leaning against the door. We have an hour with us so we both looked through the window as it pasts the various stations; lands covered with big or small houses. metroIn between we looked at the commuters who were busy fiddling with their phone; some were checking the messages, some were simply scrolling up and down, others were looking at the photographs. Seeing this Virat asked me to give his tab. I asked him not to as I want him to see and sense the surroundings but it seemed he was more interested in adding more production buildings like bakery, feed mill, dairy, kitchen, pen and so many other units  to his farm in Hay Day. So I allowed him to play for few minutes. metro
As I was observing the surroundings I suddenly felt the need to sit,   I checked around hoping to get any seat but the whole compartment  was full,  so I sat down where I was standing. A lady  sitting just opposite to me was playing some game on her phone and  suppressed her giggle whenever a girl sitting next to her murmur something in her ear.  That girl was looking very sad to me.   For the next few minutes I tried my best to grasp or understand their vague behavior. Then, finally unable to hold the curiosity I asked that lady  “Is she your daughter?” “No, niece.” On further questioning, she told that she has been raised by her and that’s why she is very attached to her.  Saying this when she got up to get down, that girl  hold her hand tightly and didn’t let her go.  To this, she hugged her tightly and  agreed to stay with her.

After a few stops when  they left, I find myself wishing that I had asked her more about her and that girl.

Last was our stop, where Vinay and my Sister-in-Law were waiting for us. He picked us up and at home,  we all had a wonderful time with  my parents and with brother, sister and their families.  It was a short stay as Virat has his half yearly exams in the next few days.Plum Fragipine tartPlum Fragipine Tart
In other news, his SpellBee competition for which he was preparing for days has been cancelled. A family friend’s daughter got the scholarship to study in France, where she will be lectured by none other than French Economist Jean Tirole. plum Fragipine tart
As far as my recipe is concerned it may not be very good looking dessert but really really loved by everyone. It is a must try recipe.

Ingredients
For shortcrust pastry
• Salted butter, cold – 80 gm
• Whole wheat flour – 1 cup
• Amaranth flour – ½ cup
• Brown sugar – 1 tbsp
For filling
• Almond flour – 50 gm
• Brown sugar – 50 gm
• Egg – 1
• Vanilla essence- 2tsp
• Butter – 20 gm
• Deseeded plums cut into half – 8 or 9
• Brown sugar(powdered) for sprinkling
• Chopped almonds for sprinkling
Method
For shortcrust pastry
Grease an 8 inch tart tin and preheat the oven at 180 degree C.
Put both the flours, sugar in a bowl. Add cold butter and quickly cut it into flour until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add ice water and mix briefly, about 30 seconds, to form a soft dough (remember not to overwork). Wrap the dough in cling film and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before using.
Roll the pastry 1.5 inches wider than the tin you’re using. Press the pastry in using your finger tips. Trim off any excess using a knife. Prick the base of the pastry case all over with a fork. Line the pastry with a baking paper and fill with dried pulses. Bake for about 15 minutes or until the pastry is firm, then remove the beans and cook for about 5 minutes more, until golden brown.
For filling
Beat egg, butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Fold in the almond flour and vanilla essence.
Assembling
When the tart has cooled down spread some jam over the base of the baked tart(I used some homemade plum jam). Spoon the filling mixture over the jam. Press the plums in between the filling then sprinkle some chopped almond s and sugar. Transfer the tart to the oven and bake for 20 -25 minutes, or until the filling is golden-brown. Remove the tart from the oven and set aside on a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

