Best Ever Chocolate Cookies

Morning walk has always been  much more than just  physical exercise.  For me, it is a solo time with nature or with myself .   But in the last many months even this simplest of thing  finds no space in my day’s schedule.  At times, I didn’t have the energy or inclination and other times  I prefer some other joys –  watching the cute passerby waving or teasing at me; and my neighbor’s tenants arguing with the Dabbaman(lunch box delivery man) on delivering  the same vegetable everyday or sometimes putting a request for the next day.  And at times watching the squirrel  or a bird enjoying the pleasurable and careful walk over the lines.

.
But, recently when my sister-in-law drew my attention towards my ever growing weight and suggested me  gym.  It  seemed exciting and fun,  so just after talking to her I went to  inquire about the timings.   But later  after careful thinking and keeping in mind the needs, hopes and specifically distinctive routine of everyone in the house I realized that doing this on a regular basis is difficult and the only thing that could fit in my kind of schedule is some yoga  and some brisk  walk at any convenient time.  Now, when I have planned a routine for myself I  like remembering one quote which my sister-in-law shared on Facebook recently:

Health is d greatest of all wealth. A pale cobbler is better than a sick king.   Isaac Bickerstaffe

Yesterday, just  a day before his first exams Virat shared his fear of getting a different paper (of different subject).   I assured him nothing like this will ever happen to him and at times, it is quite natural to have such thoughts.

Tomorrow is Grandparents Day.  And I want to thank all the grandparents and wish them a very happy Grandparents Day.

Virat's grandmother with kids (2004)...celebrating his 1st month's birthday

Virat’s grandmother with kids (2004)…celebrating his 1st month’s birthday

A few months after my father-in-law’s death, when we first left my mother-in-law alone in the house to go out of station in summer vacation, Virat was very concerned for leaving her alone and to make sure she stay safe in our absence he sticks stickers on all the walls and on floors giving a strict warning of “No entry” to all the thieves.

teachers's daycards
A few cards  and some chocolates which we together made on teachers day.chocolate barks

One more highlight of the week, Virat has been asked to play keyboard in the school assembly.  I think it is a big thing for him as he has learnt keyboard only for 3 month.Best ever chocolate cookies
Recipe adapted from The Gourmet Traveller
Ingredients
• Whole wheat flour – 1 ¾ cup
• Icing sugar – 1 cup
• Cocoa powder – ½ cup
• Salted Cold butter – 225 gm
• Egg yolk – 1
• Vanilla essence – 2 tsp
Method
In a bowl mix flour, cocoa and icing sugar then add chopped cold butter and mix till the mixture resembles like sand-textured. Add yolk and process until mixture comes together. Turn out onto a work surface and gently knead to come together. Form into a rough cylinder and roll until smooth and 5cm in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate until for an 1 hour. Preheat oven to 180C. Unwrap dough and cut into 5mm-thick slices. Place on 2 oven trays lined with baking paper (leaving about 3cm between each biscuit) and bake for 20 minutes. Swap trays halfway through cooking. Cool slightly on trays, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

One thought on “Best Ever Chocolate Cookies

  1. I m so impressed by your thoughts and bakery fascination. …words and expressions are so touchy and pure..likewise the recipie is so simply illustrated and depicted outcome looks awesome. …I however feel that yu to try more usage of walnut in yur each dish…This is my advisory as a great connoisseur of rich foody items.

    Any way jokes apart v good going. …This hidden talent was never known earlier…

    Full marks

    Keep it up
    Wud wait for a delicious ice cream cake now…my all time favourite.

Leave a Reply

