Eggless Black Forest Cupcake

I must have sat down quite a number of times here, but always felt as if there is nothing to say; everything seems too big or may be too small to share. And even today after a 10 days long hiatus when I am typing this out I am quite unsure from where to begin the tale of my Delhi Haat visit last Sunday.
This Sunday morning, I dragged my favorite chair in the balcony, where Inder was reading the newspaper. Seeing him in happy mood, I asked him to take us to Delhi Haat. Hearing my request, he nodded his head in approval.  The next big task after his approval  was to make Virat agree.  For me, poor he too readily agreed against his wishes.

At times, I wish that if I live closer to that place then it would be so easy for me to travel  this favorite place of mine without dragging them along.

Next day was his school, so I wanted to leave early so that we can return home before dark. After making necessary preparations for his school and quickly  finishing off with lunch I hurried myself into the car.

Ganpati Visarjan Rally
On the way, we watched the spectacular procession of Ganpati Visarjan for a minute until we moved to another lane. At that time I wished to get down from the car wearing my camera in my neck to have a closer and clearer view of the procession. Wishing for more such views I glued my eyes on the window of our car but unfortunately nothing as exciting follows that day. delhi haat
When we reached there, we were informed that entry and wi-fi is free to celebrate the World Tourism Day. People around were carrying heavy Dslrs with them, some even carrying two (must  be to avoid fiddling with the adjustment again and again). But I, for no particular reason avoided my camera.delhi haat
Then I began to look into each and every stall with utmost care and attention. As I moved along with my research of nothing special, I find a blue pottery shop , from where I selected two dinner plates and some mugs. I decided to pick them later to avoid carrying them with us all around the market.Then there is one famous pickle and supari shop from where Virat bought his favorite aam papad (mango lather), which the shopkeeper claimed  to made out of alphonso mangoes.
After thoroughly enjoying our stroll we finally settled down in a Sikkim corner, tired and hungry. There, we ordered steamed momos and some chilled fruit beer. After filling our bellies and relaxing for a few moments, we picked whatever we have selected and return to the parking lot to drive home. Eggless Black forest cupcake
After reaching home I carefully adjusted my treasure in his almirah and then went straight into the kitchen to prepare an easy and quick meal. Inder got busy with his phone and Virat start building his windmill from a woodcraft construction kit, he bought from DH.eggless black forest cupcake.
Today I am sharing a recipe of Black Forest Cupcake which came out exceptionally good and moist. eggless black forest cupcake
Recipe adapted from Spice up the curry
Makes 16 cupcakes
For Cupcakes

• Whole wheat flour – 1 ½ cups
• Granulated Sugar – 1 cup
• Cocoa powder – 1/3 cup
• Baking soda – 1 teaspoon
• Salt – ½ teaspoon
• Water – 1 cup
• Oil – ½ cup
• Vanilla Essence – 1 teaspoon
• Vinegar – 1 tablespoon
For Frosting
Dark chocolate, chopped – 200gm
Amul cream – 100 ml

Method
For cupcake
Preheat oven to 180 degree C. Line the muffin tray with muffin liners. In a bowl mix all dry ingredients. In another bowl mix all wet ingredients. Add wet mixture to flour mixture. Pour the batter into the muffin cup about two third. Bake for about 20-22 minutes or till toothpick inserted in center of cupcake will come out clean. Remove it from oven and after 5 minutes remove cupcakes on wire rack and let them cool completely.
For ganache
Heat the cream on a slow flame. Once the bubbles started to appear on the sides switch of the gas and add the chopped chocolate. Cover the pan with a lid and let it sit for a few minutes to give the chocolate time to soften and melt. Finally stir the mixture. If the ganache looks too thick add a few teaspoons of milk.
Assembly
Once muffins are cooled completely, dip the top part into the ganache. Sprinkle crushed gems on side. Pipe whipped cream on the centre. Garnish with cherry.

Leave a Reply

