Chocolate Mini Tarts with Amaranth flour

Wearing a sling bag on my shoulder, putting my camera and an extra lens inside I love wandering here and there for no particular reason or just to capture  whatever exciting comes my way without compromising or fearing what others would say.    And now,  when the mornings have become so   comfortable, it feels so good to be out.
During one such pleasant morning after dropping Virat to his bus stand, I went straight to the park to see what exciting the day has to offer.

I found this query and its answer written on a bench “What that always goes up and never comes down?  Batter and age.”  chocolate amaranth tart
As I started walking, I heard some rhythmic sound of clapping. When I checked I found some ladies were singing a choir. To hear them sing more closely, I plopped down on a side bench lying nearby. In such a short span of time  these ladies  have managed to add more and more ladies in their group. Every day they come in the park to  exchange stories, to laugh and to do many exciting things together.  Yesterday morning, I overheard one women amongst the group telling the another about  holding some cooking and baking classes to make it more exciting for the members.    Seeing them extracting the best out of life, I imagined myself joining this group one day. But for now, it was the time to get back to work.

When I got home, I found myself humming the same song they were singing. Chocolate Amaranth tart
This past week, a grocery shop in our neighborhood was badly burnt due to short circuit. Fortunately, the shop owner was not there when it all happened; or may if he was there he might have saved the shop. I had a conversation with Inder about the insurance policies and claims. He told me that in India other than car insurance no other insurance is mandatory. I just hope his shop was insured so that he can start all over again.chocolate amaranth tartajwain
I bought another herb this weekend. Though I am very well aware that like my earlier herbs this too won’t survive for long but still, I am trying one last time. I put this plant under the shed of my bigger plants. Hope it will survive. In the next few days I will transfer this in a bigger pot. vanilla panna cotta with kumquat jamchocolate mousseprops
This past weekend, my nephew visited us to spend two days with us.  Other than serving and sharing his few favorite desserts, I shared so many other things with him. That includes my plans of buying a domain, my upcoming stall; many adventurous stories of how certain props came into my life; showing him my most expensive baking books and other recent purchases and much-much more. Though I know for a young boy of his age, it’s difficult too hear and understand the feeling behind, but my sweet gentle soul not even care to listen to my absurd stories with utmost care and attention but even have a few suggestions to make.

Makes 6 mini tarts
Ingredients
For pastry
• Whole wheat flour- 1 cup
• Amaranth flour – ½ cup
• Butter – 25 gm
• Brown sugar – 1 tbsp
• Baking powder – ½ tsp
• Cold water – ½ cup
Brownie filling
• Egg – 1
• Amaranth flour – ¼ cup
• Baking powder – ½ tsp
• Salt – ¼ tsp
• Vanilla essence – ¼ tsp
• Chopped walnuts – 5 -6
• Powdered brown sugar – ¼ cup
• Coffee powder – ½ tbsp
• Dark chocolate – 125 gm
• Butter – 50 gm
• Vanilla essence – 1tsp
Method
For pastry
In a bowl mix both the flours, sugar, salt, baking powder. Add cold butter to the dry ingredients and mix to give it a sand like texture (actually 25 gram is too less to distribute the butter evenly) but try. Now add the lightly whisked egg into the mixture and knead just to combine. If the mixture is too dry add a few tablespoons of cold water. Wrap this mixture in a cling film and put this in the freeze at least for an hour to chill.
For brownie mixture
Melt chocolate and butter in a microwave. Let it come to room temperature. In another bowl sift all the dry ingredients. Mix the egg, chocolate mixture and vanilla essence to the dry ingredients. Mix just to combine (remember not to overwork the batter). If the batter is too thick add a few tablespoons of milk into the batter.
Assembly

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Oil the mini tart tins with some butter. Roll out the chilled dough between two baking papers to ¼ cm thick. Cut out 6 circles and place each circle in the tart tin and push it from the corners to fit the tin. Fill the tarts with brownie mixture. Place in the oven and bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until the brownie is baked. Cool on a wire rack then remove the tart shells from the tart tins. Frost with some ganache.

Leave a Reply

