Eggless Two bowl Chocolate Cake and Chocolate Granola

a street view

I could clearly hear as she breaks the word into syllables to help her child learn the spellings of weekdays. Though that lady lives on the other side of the road, even then her voice can be heard easily in my balcony irrespective of number of  activities and other obstacles on the road.  Her this activity took me to the time when much like her, I  too used to read out everything aloud  to him, without bothering about anything.  At that time,  I am sure others would have felt the same way, like I am thinking now.    But I  felt happy that I  have lived those moments the way I liked.

birds
One night at bedtime, Virat told me that he really enjoyed that extra hour of sleep, he gets on the way to school. And every morning, the thought of getting more  sleep later in the bus helps him leaving the comfort of his bed as soon as I asked him to get up.  Hearing this I told him how as a kid, I too felt the same way. Isn’t that amazing that no matter from which generation you belongs to, there are certain emotions and behavior which we all pass through? eggless chocolate cake for twoeggless chocolate cake for two
The other day Virat was helping me in the kitchen to make poories; his grandmother came to tell him that cooking isn’t a man’s job. For a split second, I wasn’t sure how he would react;  but he responded  really well by just passing a smile to her. When I love the fact that he can roll almost perfect round rotis, make omelets and tea, can recognize almost all the spices, peel the potato; she rather opposed the idea of a boy or a man entering the kitchen. Chocolatee granola
After making other preparations for dinner when I came into my room, I got a text message from my sister, inviting us her home. Inder too was out for a short trip to Vaishno Devi so I texted back my confirmation. chocolate granola
Next day when we reached there, both the boys got busy playing  on his new video game.  In between , taking the break Abhinav showed his new keyboard player and even played a beautiful song on it. His notes were so clear and perfect that both Virat and I kept shouting  ‘once more-once more’. But the evil He, played just two times.   When my sister  went to bring tea for us, I came out in their wonderful and not so crowded balcony to enjoy probably the best view in front .  I pulled a chair from the stack and wondered how wonderful it would be to live at such a great height.a vist
After sitting there for a few minutes, I came inside to have my tea. Virat too was happy to have his favorite fruit cream for dessert. He particularly likes the way she made for him; but I never cared to ask how she made.

In between sips, we both sisters caught up on the past couple of days since we last met.   And when I shared the excitement of renovating our house especially kitchen; to give me some idea she took me to a neighbor’s flat which was under construction. After lunch, we went down to take a few rounds in the inner courtyard while we both wandered leisurely, kids cycled around the apartments.  Soon afterwards when the sun started to lower, I asked our leave but the  kids insisted to have pizza so we went down to a nearby pizza corner, where we enjoyed a Veggie burst pizza and then said goodbye to each other.  on the way back home
On the way home Virat told me other than him every other child need permission from their parents to play computer games. I felt happy he realized that. chocolate granola

Two bowl chocolate cake

Recipe adapted from Two Red Bowls
Ingredients
• Whole wheat flour – ¼ cup
• Powdered brown sugar – 2 tbsp +2tsp
• Unsweetened cocoa powder – 2 tsp
• Baking soda – 1/8 tsp
• a pinch of salt
• Vanilla essence – 1/8 tsp
• Oil – 2 tsp
• Coffee – (dissolve 1 tsp coffee powder in 2 tbsp +2 tsp of hot water)
• Milk – 2 tbsp
Method
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Grease 2 or 3 ramekins with some oil and cocoa powder. In a bowl whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. In another bowl, whisk together brown sugar, vanilla extract, vinegar, oil, milk and coffee. Combine wet ingredients with dry and whisk gently until smooth. Divide evenly into ramekins. Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in pans on wire racks for 15 minutes. Take them out pour some ganache over and sprinkle with some sprinkles or crushed gems.

Chocolate Granola

Ingredients

• Oats – 4 cups
• Honey – ¼ cup
• Oil – ¼ cup
• Wheat bran – ½ cup
• Amaranth flour – ¼ cup
• Nuts – 1 cup
• Cocoa nibs – 1 tbsp (optional)
• Cocoa powder – 2 tbsp
(To make it sweeter you can add 2 tbsp of powdered sugar)
Method
Preheat the oven at 160 degree C. Mix all the ingredients in bowl (except nuts). Spread this mixture evenly on a baking tray and bake for about 15 minutes then for the remaining 20 minutes remember to stir after every 2 to 3 minutes. Once it cooled down add the dry roasted chopped nuts to it.

Leave a Reply

