White Gazpacho and Kumbala Curry

It was still dark when I woke up this morning.  Clutching my laptop when I stepped outside, it felt cold, curling my legs up I sat down on a chair and began typing the many little things happened over and around here.

We spend the long weekend at home. Initially Virat was a bit upset as his new video game for which he spent his two month’s pocket  money has failed to download on computer.  He has been warned and advised several times by Inder and even by the shopkeeper but at times kids learnt some lessons the hard way.    So, I  think it’s a good learning experience for him.However things get pretty normal very soon as he make himself busy by watching his favorite programs like Nicki, Doraemon and our family favorite Agent Raghav. Later he even learnt algebra, construction, profit and loss from his father.

Later that day sitting in our balcony, we both chatted about friends and other activities in his school. He told me about a girl whose jokes and funny comments always make the whole class laugh out aloud. But at times, it irritates their Sir and  he often punished her by deducting her marks from some activity. When I asked her does he too finds her irritating to which he gave a quick ‘no’ and said he rather enjoys her jokes.white gazpacho
This past week, after sending them off from the house,  I had plenty of time before the next  task of welcoming Virat and serving lunch calls my name.  I thought visiting Durga Pooja Pandal  would be a great idea, so I grabbed my camera and decided to visit and explore the Bengali tradition and culture. Durga Maatadurga pooja'15
When I left home, I had doubts whether they will allow me to photograph or not; in a public place  it is  permissible or not. But ignoring all such surfaced doubts, I bravely grabbed my camera and took an e-rick. And when I stepped into the Pandal and lifted my brows to see the divinity of the Godess Durga, I was dumb struck with delight. The view was so majestic that I thumped down on a chair to take in the view. Then, I slowly drew my camera  from my bag and clicked one photograph then more and more. After every click, I looked around to see, if I am being noticed or being approached to ‘STOP’ and “GET OUT” (I had a very bad experience earlier, which I will share sometime soon). But how can I relate these very cordial and sweet  people with those unsympathetic  ones.durga pooja
After offering prayers and taking blessings, I came to the next adjoining tent, where a stage was being set for the various cultural activities. As I settled down on a chair to watch the kids perform, the memories of my past days surfaced before my eyes.  I remember how 6 long years back, Virat was here to perform in front of, his best friends and in front of large Bengali audience. He acted as a Bengali farmer.  The way he confidently recited the Bengali lines, was truly commendable. At times, his confidence  and his other activities  put a question mark in my mind and I doubted: Is he really  my son?

Anyways, after feasting my eyes for further few minutes I took an e-rick back home. Durga pooja' 09

The very talented girl in the picture above who also happens to be his best friend’s sister won the first prize.And in the next he is seen with his best friend.  Different expressionsOn the way home , I felt happy that I took my luxury time out to experience this. This and many such simple outing gives me a broader and fuller understanding of life.
In another news, after lots of speculation and anticipation our dream of renovation our house is again put on hold as our family mason’s diary is full till Diwali. And that’s an another excuse of reporting me late, as I was busy cleaning the house from inside out.my brother and my sister-in-law
Last and one more special news of the past week – two special persons (my brother and SIL) came for a surprise visit. And by magic they got the clue that nothing was cooked or baked that day so they brought lunch for all of us. So it was a doubly treat for us which we all delishily savored of course, along with some hearty conversation.White gazpacho and kumbala curry

Serves 4
Kumbala Curry
Recipe adapted from Goodfood Magazine (issue August’ 15 ) . To know more about the Kodava Cuisine check one of my favorite blog The Coorg Table.
Ingredients
• Pumpkin (firm with streaky green skin), cubed with skin- 500gm
• Salt to taste
• Turmeric Powder – 1 tsp
• Coriander powder – 1 tsp
• Grated coconut – 1 cup
• Green chillies – 4 to 6, ground to a smooth paste
• Water – 4 cups
The seasoning
• Oil – 4 tbsp
• Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
• Curry leaves – 12 – 14
• Dried red chillies – 4 lightly crushed
• Garlic pods – 8 pods
Method
In a pan, place the pumpkin and pour 1 cup of water, or enough to cover the pumpkin by an inch. Add the salt, turmeric and coriander powder, bring to a boil, simmer, and cook until the pumpkin is tender but still firm.
Add the coconut and chilli paste and simmer for 3 more minutes. Switch off the gas. In another small pan, heat the oil and add the mustard seeds. Once they begin to splutter, add the curry leaves, dried red chillies and garlic, stir once or twice, and pour over the curry.
Serve one
White Gazpacho
Ingredients
• Curd – 1 cups
• Cucumber – 2
• Garlic – 4 pods
• Salt and pepper to taste
• Olive oil – 2 tbsp
• Vinegar – 1 tsp
• Red, yellow pepper, finally chopped – ¼ cup
• Walnuts, chopped – 3 tbsp
Method
Other than bell pepper, walnuts blend all in a blender. Pour this thick soup in a bowl, garnish with walnuts and bell pepper. Serve this cold.

Leave a Reply

